STC-1000 not playing nicely with chest freezer - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > STC-1000 not playing nicely with chest freezer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 10:12 PM   #1
upthink
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5



I'm currently in the process of switching my ancient (15 yr old) 15cf chest freezer from temperature controlled fermentation chamber to overflow keg storage. The freezer has been unplugged for sometime because I only need a heating element running off the STC-1000 for fermentation this time of the year. Now, that I'm not fermenting anything, I have a handful of kegs that are sitting on deck. My up-stairs keezer is only 5cf and maxes our with 2 corny kegs. To expand my capacity, I want to utilize the larger chest freezer (located in the basement) to offer additional drinking options in a simple, primitive way (using picnic taps).

So, here's the problem: if I plug the freezer directly into an outlet it turns on and runs correctly. If I plug it into the cold side of the STC-1000 it doesn't start up (only clicks once without the compressor kicking on).

Since it's an older unit, I have the STC-1000 set to a 2+ degree Celsius differential and a 6 minute compressor delay. I also confirmed that the STC-1000 is rated at 120v / 10 amps. The freezer listed at 5amps, so the STC-1000 should be capable of powering it. I have sat around patiently waiting for it to start up without success.

I was worried that this freezer might be too old for reliability, but the fact I can plug it into the wall outlet with successful operation several minutes after it fails to start with the STC-1000 has me curious.

I know there are a lot of topics about the STC-1000 unit on HBT. I apologize if this is a common problem and I missed the other threads. If not, has anyone else experienced a similar issue? Any suggestions or ideas?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
UPTHINK.TV | ATL, GA
Mountains in Motion: The Canadian Rockies

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:06 AM   #2
Sideways
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
San Diego, CA
Posts: 99
Liked 37 Times on 24 Posts


Plug in a lamp or something else into the controller to confirm that it is or is not working properly and go from there. It the controller works properly powering a lamp but not the freezer you may have a bad connection somewhere that is not allowing enough amps to be drawn for the compressor to kick on.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:19 AM   #3
upthink
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5


I have confirmed that the outlet on the cold side is working with a fan and light plugged in.

I'll get my hands on a multi-meter and see if I can run some additional tests.

Honestly, this freezer is so old that it could very well be the compressor failing. While I have had luck unplugging / replugging to by-pass the temp controller, it could have been pure luck that it decided to kick on.

I"ll continue to test.

Thanks!
__________________
UPTHINK.TV | ATL, GA
Mountains in Motion: The Canadian Rockies

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:23 AM   #4
JuanMoore
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 22,388
Liked 3742 Times on 3552 Posts


As mentioned, check to make sure the wiring is ok by using a simple lamp or other small appliance. If you can hear the click of the relay after the 6 min delay, but aren't getting power to your test lamp, I'd check your wiring.

You are waiting for the 6 min delay after powering it on right?

Edit: Nevermind, my typing is too slow.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
pfgonzo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
pfgonzo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 744
Liked 83 Times on 59 Posts


JuanMoore raises a good point. Plug it back into the STC1000 and walk away for 10 minutes. The device doesn't start up the heating or cooling until at least the first delay cycle. Come back in 10 minutes and it may be working.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:42 PM   #6
upthink
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by pfgonzo View Post
JuanMoore raises a good point. Plug it back into the STC1000 and walk away for 10 minutes. The device doesn't start up the heating or cooling until at least the first delay cycle. Come back in 10 minutes and it may be working.
I kept everything connected for 24 hours without any luck with the compressor. Confirmed that the compressor still had issues independent of the STC-1000.

Unplugged and gave up. Returned a couple days later and tried again. Success. It's been operating flawlessly.

The freezer is 15 years old, so it's clearly a bit unreliable after my testing.

I'll hope for the best.

Thanks for the advice.
__________________
UPTHINK.TV | ATL, GA
Mountains in Motion: The Canadian Rockies

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 08:11 AM   #7
AlfA01
...it ain't sold in heaven...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
AlfA01's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2014
Athens, Greece
Posts: 170
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts


Any new advice? Same thing...wired up the STC to a working freezer and set the delay to 1 min and 8 degrees Celsius. We have a temp of 24 + ambient right now. When I bypass the STC and plug in direct, the freezer works. I must be dropping some amps in the wiring and not getting enough to kick the compressor on.

It seems to me the issue is within the STC, as the wiring is so simple and rudimentary. I have a second one on hand to test the theory.

Cheers,
Dan
__________________
"Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything." Xenophon

"We must free ourselves of the hope that the sea will ever rest. We must learn to sail in high winds." Aristotle Onassis


Keg 1: Krispy Kolsch and a Biscuit
Keg 2: Hoppy Dark Mexican Lager
Keg 3: Dogfish 90 Clone
On Deck: Vienna Lager and Imperial Stout

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:20 PM   #8
bondra76
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Nov 2013
Denver, CO
Posts: 626
Liked 79 Times on 62 Posts


I would just replace it. For the $15 is it really worth your hassle?
__________________
Kegged - Non-Alcoholic Root Beer, Cherry Cider

Primary/Secondary - Jamil's Amber Ale (Primary), Russian Imperial Stout (Barrel Aging), Wee Heavy Scotch (Barrel Aging)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2015, 05:25 AM   #9
AlfA01
...it ain't sold in heaven...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
AlfA01's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2014
Athens, Greece
Posts: 170
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bondra76 View Post
I would just replace it. For the $15 is it really worth your hassle?
Got it fixed...there was a loose connection on one of the terminals of the freezer. I'm happily fermenting at 62 degrees now
__________________
"Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything." Xenophon

"We must free ourselves of the hope that the sea will ever rest. We must learn to sail in high winds." Aristotle Onassis


Keg 1: Krispy Kolsch and a Biscuit
Keg 2: Hoppy Dark Mexican Lager
Keg 3: Dogfish 90 Clone
On Deck: Vienna Lager and Imperial Stout

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2015, 05:54 AM   #10
doug293cz
BIABer, Beer Math Nerd
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2014
Renton, WA
Posts: 4,129
Liked 1375 Times on 1008 Posts


Most people like to go with a longer compressor delay, to save wear and tear on the compressor, and extend the life of the freezer. I set mine at 10 min.

Brew on

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reg chest freezer vs commercial chest freezer PistolaPete Equipment/Sanitation 9 12-31-2015 09:14 AM
Better for DIY Kegerator: Chest Freezer or Upright Freezer? BrianDorry55 Kegerators & Keezers 12 10-29-2014 01:40 AM
Basic STC-1000 / Freezer Fermentation Chamber sroberts Kegerators & Keezers 3 02-22-2013 10:45 PM
Chest Freezer or No-Freezer Fridge? Kesigage Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 01-18-2013 08:16 PM
Fementation freezer setting w/ STC 1000 controller logdrum Equipment/Sanitation 6 07-22-2012 02:02 PM


Forum Jump