Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Selling homebrew!
Closed Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 03:11 AM   #1
ThaBrewFather06
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts

Default Selling homebrew!

I am new to the home brew scene and my best friend and I think we are on to an awesome recipe that would be worth selling in NC. Does anyone know what the stipulations for selling at a farmers market would be? We are only interested in selling small quantities at this time so we figured the farmers market would be perfect. People sell there home grown meats and eggs with no restriction why should our home brew be any different?

Old 02-13-2013, 03:13 AM   #2
daksin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 308 Times on 265 Posts
Likes Given: 338

To sell any beer you must be licensed as a beer manufacturer by both the state and federal government and brew in a commercial space you own or lease on approved equipment. This process will take months and years and cost tens of thousands of dollars. Selling homebrew is illegal, and no state allows sale of alcohol at farmers markets.

There are no exceptions.

twitter.com/2kidsbrewing .. facebook.com/2kidsbrewing .. 2kidsbrewing.com

Old 02-13-2013, 03:15 AM   #3
looneybomber
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Meat and eggs are not a restricted item. That's why you don't see tobacco at farmers markets. without a license, some items/drugs cannot be sold and (almost) anything with alcohol is one of them. Medicine (eg NyQuil) can be sold without a beer/liquor license, but then you have to be licensed to sell OTC medication I believe.

*edit* ah I got beat.

Now, you may be able to sell the recipe to a brewery, but I doubt anyone would want to buy it.
Bottled: <1.060: AHS Aniv Wit, lemon wheat, Blonde rye.
<1.090: How Rye I Am, Rye wheat ale, spiced tripel, tripel w/orange, baltic porter, skeeter pee lime and lemon w/cranberry, Milk stout.