STC-1000 PID Controller - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > STC-1000 PID Controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 12:22 PM   #11
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I built my own thermowell based on some research from another site. I used this part called an Anders-Line compression fitting. It is a compression type fitting to copper pipe & has threads to go through the bulkhead. Used a brass nut & O ring to seal it. See attached pics. I may have put it too high on my pan though.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2228648708.jpg
Views:	390
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	101850   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3994636911.jpg
Views:	384
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	101851  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #12
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


So is there any advice to connect the controller to a relay to protect it better?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:00 PM   #13
MI_Troll
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 61
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts


Assuming you are using this to heat strike/sparge water you shouldn't be cycling that frequently. That unit has a minimum 0.5C hysteresis on it. Assuming you have at least 4 gallons in the pot it will take a few minutes for the water to cool that much. If you were concerned about it you could up the hysteresis term to 1-2C, but I would just leave it and see how often it cycles. With regards to wether the probe can handle boiling temp, just pull the probe out, you're going to want the element on full bore anyway, your boiling wort is going to be at 100C, probe no longer necessary. Having said all that, have you checked the current rating of the unit vs. your element. If memory serves it is rated at 10A, but I never payed that much attention as I'm only switching a 1.5A device. Any more than that and you'll want an external relay. Sparkfun.com has (had at least) an extension cord rated at 15A with a built in relay that triggers off of 5V that I think is cheaper than all the components separately. That and a wall wort switched by your STC and you'd be all set.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:38 PM   #14
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Thanks for your help!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:07 AM   #15
tbel
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Rochester, mn
Posts: 318
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Your home made thermowell looks great. Here is a link to some probes that should work to replace the one that came with it. Not all on this page will work. The ones labeled 10K ohm would be the ones your looking for as far as I can tell.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:06 PM   #16
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Do you know if the relays in this controller can be replaced or upgraded?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:24 PM   #17
TimL
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TimL's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Pickering, ON
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I have heard of some setups that use the output of the STC1000 to control the coil of an external relay, so you can provide more power to the load (element in your case).


You'd need a 120v coil relay or contactor.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:35 PM   #18
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


So I would put the external relay between the outputs & my receptacle for my element plug? Still i think i have to replace the outputs because i think i fried them. They are not sending power to the receptacle lime it was.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:03 AM   #19
TimL
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TimL's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Pickering, ON
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


If you aren't getting anything from the STC1000 relay now, it's probably scrap. There's no repairing cheap units like that, just pitch it and get another.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:27 AM   #20
acidrain
Recipes 
 
Jul 2012
Seattle, Washington
Posts: 2,072
Liked 181 Times on 156 Posts


You fried it.
Also, it's not a PID... those are completely different.
If you're using this to heat, and you want a steady temp, use a PID, SSR, and the pt100 sensor: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Digital-...item20c5a9171e
__________________
Keg #1: Brown Bomber Bourbon/Oak Vanilla Porter
Keg #2: The Bollocks ESB
Keg #3 Lawnmower APA
Fermenter: Empty
Bottled: Mjolnir Mead, Lazy Daze Hefe.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STC-1000 Temperature controller Plasse_D Equipment/Sanitation 22 12-29-2015 04:31 PM
STC-1000 Temperature controller - 110vac tojo For Sale 4 10-29-2012 02:13 AM
STC-1000 Temp Controller Brewcrew02 For Sale 14 09-27-2012 08:40 PM
WTB: temp controller stc-1000 aquarium eBay controller JRems For Sale 10 05-16-2012 12:14 PM


Forum Jump