Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > STC-1000 PID Controller
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 12:22 PM   #11
owentp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mattawan, MI
Posts: 337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

I built my own thermowell based on some research from another site. I used this part called an Anders-Line compression fitting. It is a compression type fitting to copper pipe & has threads to go through the bulkhead. Used a brass nut & O ring to seal it. See attached pics. I may have put it too high on my pan though.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2228648708.jpg
Views:	367
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	101850   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3994636911.jpg
Views:	363
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	101851  
owentp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #12
owentp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mattawan, MI
Posts: 337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

So is there any advice to connect the controller to a relay to protect it better?


owentp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:00 PM   #13
MI_Troll
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Assuming you are using this to heat strike/sparge water you shouldn't be cycling that frequently. That unit has a minimum 0.5C hysteresis on it. Assuming you have at least 4 gallons in the pot it will take a few minutes for the water to cool that much. If you were concerned about it you could up the hysteresis term to 1-2C, but I would just leave it and see how often it cycles. With regards to wether the probe can handle boiling temp, just pull the probe out, you're going to want the element on full bore anyway, your boiling wort is going to be at 100C, probe no longer necessary. Having said all that, have you checked the current rating of the unit vs. your element. If memory serves it is rated at 10A, but I never payed that much attention as I'm only switching a 1.5A device. Any more than that and you'll want an external relay. Sparkfun.com has (had at least) an extension cord rated at 15A with a built in relay that triggers off of 5V that I think is cheaper than all the components separately. That and a wall wort switched by your STC and you'd be all set.
MI_Troll is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:38 PM   #14
owentp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mattawan, MI
Posts: 337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Thanks for your help!
owentp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:07 AM   #15
tbel
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
tbel's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester, mn
Posts: 323
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Your home made thermowell looks great. Here is a link to some probes that should work to replace the one that came with it. Not all on this page will work. The ones labeled 10K ohm would be the ones your looking for as far as I can tell.
tbel is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:06 PM   #16
owentp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mattawan, MI
Posts: 337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Do you know if the relays in this controller can be replaced or upgraded?
owentp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:24 PM   #17
TimL
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TimL's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pickering, ON
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I have heard of some setups that use the output of the STC1000 to control the coil of an external relay, so you can provide more power to the load (element in your case).


You'd need a 120v coil relay or contactor.
TimL is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:35 PM   #18
owentp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mattawan, MI
Posts: 337
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

So I would put the external relay between the outputs & my receptacle for my element plug? Still i think i have to replace the outputs because i think i fried them. They are not sending power to the receptacle lime it was.
owentp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:03 AM   #19
TimL
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TimL's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pickering, ON
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

If you aren't getting anything from the STC1000 relay now, it's probably scrap. There's no repairing cheap units like that, just pitch it and get another.
TimL is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:27 AM   #20
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,931
Liked 164 Times on 142 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default

You fried it.
Also, it's not a PID... those are completely different.
If you're using this to heat, and you want a steady temp, use a PID, SSR, and the pt100 sensor: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Digital-...item20c5a9171e


__________________
Keg #1: Brown Bomber Bourbon/Oak Vanilla Porter
Keg #2: The Bollocks ESB
Keg #3 Lawnmower APA
Fermenter: Empty
Bottled: Mjolnir Mead, Lazy Daze Hefe.
acidrain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STC-1000 Temperature controller Plasse_D Equipment/Sanitation 20 03-09-2015 02:36 PM
For Sale - STC-1000 Temperature controller - 110vac tojo For Sale 4 10-29-2012 02:13 AM
For Sale - STC-1000 Temp Controller Brewcrew02 For Sale 14 09-27-2012 08:40 PM
For Sale - WTB: temp controller stc-1000 aquarium eBay controller JRems For Sale 10 05-16-2012 12:14 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS