Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Failed SSR
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2013, 05:33 PM   #1
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Failed SSR

So it happened to me

The last two brews my PID has been over shooting set temps by a few degrees and I could'nt figure out why.

I needed to replace a switch so I took the opportunity to rewire my indicator light to the output of the SSR so I would have a visual indicator of when the element was firing, so that I could wait till it was'nt, to flick said switch.

Anyways, I get that wired in and turn on the control panel and the light lights. Change set value to below process value and the light remains on, although dimmer this time.

Get out the volt meter and come to find that I have 32 volts on the cord.

I guess that my SSR has failed partially closed
What do you guys think?


__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:44 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 494

Default

I think you are measuring the values without a load wired into the SSR output. If that is the case, all bets are off in trying to measure anything.

Just saying.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:01 PM   #3
Chrisl77
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jackson, New Jersey
Posts: 792
Liked 52 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

What p-j said. When i measure the voltage of my ssr output without a load i get 120v. When i put a load on it i dont get leakage.
__________________
Ocean County home brew club
Chrisl77 is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:05 PM   #4
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Thanks I will check that now
__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:14 PM   #5
MagooBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 927
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Default

Deleted
__________________
"A flute with no holes is not a flute......
....... and a doughnut with no hole is a Danish."

Ty Webb
MagooBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:15 PM   #6
MagooBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 927
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Default

This is where a "wiggy" style meter is worth its weight in gold. It has a built in solenoid to present a load to the circuit. Modern digital multimeters do not have enough input impedance to load the relay. In the electrical classes I teach, this is one of the first things we discuss when we talk about meters.
__________________
"A flute with no holes is not a flute......
....... and a doughnut with no hole is a Danish."

Ty Webb
MagooBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:13 AM   #7
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Im sorry guys, but Im not picking up what your throwing down

If I connect the load to the plug I will have no place to take a reading
Are you saying that the SSR will allow voltage to pass through it when it is not being told to be closed by the PID?
__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:17 AM   #8
MagooBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 927
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Default

Exactly. It will appear that the SSR is in a "closed" position until a load is put on the circuit. Take the voltage reading at the output terminal opposite of the line voltage supplied.
__________________
"A flute with no holes is not a flute......
....... and a doughnut with no hole is a Danish."

Ty Webb
MagooBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:40 AM   #9
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

so should'nt it show the full 120 volts not just 32 with or without load
__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:46 AM   #10
Psych
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 785
Liked 37 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Also, isn't your PID telling you exactly when your element is firing? It has a light, it blinks...what are you firing the SSR from, control-wise? My Auber PID has a nice light that coincide's with the SSR firing.

But yeah voltage measuring through an SSR is whack jack. Fully closed I get full voltage. Don't bother. Use a "does my element turn on and heat properly" measure, instead.

But really I wouldn't bother putting in a light to tell you when your SSR is firing or not, if you need that then mount the SSR in such a way that it's visible.

It has a plastic case on it and a light on it for this reason, no?


Psych is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
conversion failed? DougmanXL Gluten Free Brewing 10 10-05-2012 05:20 AM
Failed Cork retty Mead Forum 2 08-06-2011 10:02 PM
I think I failed JonClayton Fermentation & Yeast 5 03-12-2010 04:23 PM
failed primary burning2nd Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 25 01-01-2010 02:50 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS