Thermostat Bypass - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > Thermostat Bypass

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2013, 09:42 PM   #1
Dan2539
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
South Jersey
Posts: 100


Hi all,
I just took off the thermostat housing inside my Igloo Kegerator to see what I have to work with. I'm attaching pictures as well. I'm running a Johnson temperature controller as well. Does anyone know how to bypass a thermostat like this? My guess is just to short the black and white leads but I'm not sure.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2921095339.jpg
Views:	536
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	97581



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2563491946.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	97582
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by StunnedMonkey View Post
A word of warning though, unlike Star-San or Idophor, Dijon Mustard is NOT a no-rinse sanitizer. I learned this the hard way, though I have to say the resulting Mustard Porter was pretty snappy. The hops juxtaposed against the horseradish was very nice, though possibly a touch out of the style guidelines.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:47 PM   #2
Dan2539
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
South Jersey
Posts: 100

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3431169837.jpg
Views:	368
Size:	24.5 KB
ID:	97584
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by StunnedMonkey View Post
A word of warning though, unlike Star-San or Idophor, Dijon Mustard is NOT a no-rinse sanitizer. I learned this the hard way, though I have to say the resulting Mustard Porter was pretty snappy. The hops juxtaposed against the horseradish was very nice, though possibly a touch out of the style guidelines.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:52 PM   #3
pvtschultz
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Posts: 457
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


I would just turn the kegerator to the lowest temperature setting and then plug it into the Johnson. Set the Johnson for the temperature that you'd like and viola!. This is how I run my fermentation freezer and aquarium temperature controller. The plus of the aquarium controller is that it has a delay in the programming to prevent short-cycling the refrigerant pump.
__________________
Brewing: Amber Ale, Dunkel
Drinking: Sour Brown, Schlitz...
On Deck: Berliner Weisse, Spotted Cow Clone, CAP...
2016 Gallons Brewed: 10 :(
Gallons Brewed '11-'15: 319

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvt...inally-298407/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:05 AM   #4
Skodi
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Arlington, MN
Posts: 22
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


I just read a thread here recently about bypassing the factory settings to make the thermostat go lower..or higher. There is an adjustment screw behind that sticker if I remember right. If i find that forum post again I will send you that direction. There are sever versions that are shown how to bypass.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:08 AM   #5
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,351
Liked 3220 Times on 2406 Posts


The answer to the question is: yes, exactly.

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:32 AM   #6
aarong
 
aarong's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Newport, RI
Posts: 212
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


There is most likely a small spring with a screw in it just screw it all the way in and it should bypass the thermometer (for some fridges)
__________________
Fermenting: Northern English Brown Ale
Keg: Saison
Bottle: empty
Vissani fermentor build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 03:27 AM   #7
Dan2539
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
South Jersey
Posts: 100

I didn't see a set screw that was described, as this was what I was initially looking for, but perhaps it is below the sticker as another poster said. Thanks for the input guys! Another question, does the thermostat control how long the compressor cycles on and off or is it just strictly cycled on and off based on the thermostat reading? In other words, do these thermostats that come with refrigerators give the compressor a resting time even though the set temperature isn't reached? Hope I'm clear with this question.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by StunnedMonkey View Post
A word of warning though, unlike Star-San or Idophor, Dijon Mustard is NOT a no-rinse sanitizer. I learned this the hard way, though I have to say the resulting Mustard Porter was pretty snappy. The hops juxtaposed against the horseradish was very nice, though possibly a touch out of the style guidelines.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:43 AM   #8
ButcherBoy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ButcherBoy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Lower Burrell, PA
Posts: 306
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan2539
I didn't see a set screw that was described, as this was what I was initially looking for, but perhaps it is below the sticker as another poster said. Thanks for the input guys! Another question, does the thermostat control how long the compressor cycles on and off or is it just strictly cycled on and off based on the thermostat reading? In other words, do these thermostats that come with refrigerators give the compressor a resting time even though the set temperature isn't reached? Hope I'm clear with this question.
Most thermostats, including the one in your pictures, are simply temperature controlled switches. For a fridge or freezer the switch is closed when the temp is too warm, when the unit cools to the target temp the switch opens and the compressor turns off. There is no 'rest time' other than the time it takes the unit to warm up and close the switch again.

It is worth noting that many newer fridges are computer controlled and use sensors instead of thermostats, the computer controlled models usually do have time delays programmed in to prevent rapid cycling of the compressor. Some of them are using variable speed DC compressors that almost never shut off, they just slow down. If you buy a unit to modify for brewing make sure you get one with a mechanical thermostat, they are the easiest to modify.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:31 PM   #9
socalboomer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Riverside, CA
Posts: 239
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts


What I did is to take the two 'switched' lines (on yours I believe they're the black lines) and those went to the load lines on my controller. They were spade connectors so I just crimped matching connectors on to the line I ran to my controller.

So it looks like you have white/black/green/temp. Green is ground - no big deal. Temp - irrelevant now.

I connected in to the white and black - they're just a switched load - and ran a piece of extension cable from them up to my controller.

Works perfectly.
__________________
On Tap (Nitro): Chocolate Palomino
On Tap 1: Blueberry Blonde.On Tap 2: Imperial Red.On Tap 3: Moonless Midnight Hillbilly RIS
In Secondary: empty for now
In Primary: empty for now
Next up: Gold Dust Pale, Boxer Strings Nut Brown

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Bypass/Replacement? TR34TM3NT Bottling/Kegging 8 11-26-2012 05:23 PM
Thermostat bypass? mdineenwob Fermenters 7 03-21-2012 01:20 AM
Thermostat complete bypass? centex99 Kegerators & Keezers 9 01-26-2012 07:12 PM
Chest freezer: to bypass (or not) the thermostat paledragon Fermenters 3 01-28-2011 03:01 AM
Can I bypass my fridge thermostat? fotomatt1 Equipment/Sanitation 3 11-14-2010 09:17 PM


Forum Jump