Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks > My latest Brew Kettle...
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 09:04 PM   #1
SamHain
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 114
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default My latest Brew Kettle...

I'm not a very good technical writer so I didn't think about doing a build thread. Also I'm not a very good planner, I usually design as I go. Also I apologize these pics are not very good, like I said I didn't intend on doing a build thread.

I'm hoping this thread may give some people some ideas.

My problem was my stove top limited me to a 3.5 gallon batch at best. It took over an hour to get 5 gallons to boil and by the time it did I was down to less than 4 gallons.

My solutions was to build a electric assist Brew Kettle.

I started out with a 40 quart aluminum Winware kettle I got from Amazon for $40.

Next I drilled out some holes for a Camco Element,Sight Tube and 2, 3 piece valves. Im a hobby welder so I tig welded a aluminum nut 1 1/2 to the kettle. I got the nut from McMaster Carr. Youll see that I drilled and tapped a 6/32 hole in the nut. That's to ground the kettle.





I then took a 1500 watt, 120v Camco heater element I got from lowes for about $9 and wired it up like this below.



Then I got some vinyl hose from Lowes that was 1.5 in diameter and cut it down to 3" long. I slid it over the element. I have seen some of the other ways people attach and protect the element but didn't like them that much. This was easy and real cheap.




Then I used a SS hose clamp(Lowes) to keep it in place. I made sure the ground wire was long enough and came out the top.



Here it is attached to the kettle...though I wasn't done.


I then filled the tube with silicone caulk(Lowes).


Here it is...a little messy but Ill clean it up later.


Here it is attached. I added another hose clamp to keep shape. The way its built its strong enough to hand tighten the element to the kettle and it wont leak. Its nice to be able to tighten it without tools.



Added a cord cap...I had this one kicking around the shop.



Heres how the element sits inside the kettle...



Here you can see my whirlpool tube. Works great. I whirlpool a few minutes and let the hops settle in the middle. Then when it goes through my plate chiller it doesn't plug up.



Water comes out of my tap at about 49 degrees...



Heres how the setup looks on the stovetop...



So with the 49 degree water coming out of the tap I can get a violent boil in 39 mins.

Hope this helps...if anyone has any questions just ask.


SamHain is offline
cank Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:19 AM   #2
matc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 235
Liked 16 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Wow really nice !!! Is it possible to solder an aluminium nut instead of welding it ? I'd like to do the same but I can't weld...


matc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:29 AM   #3
dtow2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windber, PA
Posts: 47
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Nicely done. Thanks for sharing
dtow2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:48 AM   #4
SamHain
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 114
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matc View Post
Wow really nice !!! Is it possible to solder an aluminium nut instead of welding it ? I'd like to do the same but I can't weld...
Thanks guys...

Yes you can solder aluminum. Do a net search or YouTube search for Super Alloy 5. That should get you started.

I'm sure you could find someone locally to weld it for you for short money.
SamHain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:16 PM   #5
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 559
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

When you say "electric assist", do you mean you use the stove and the heating element? If so, good idea.
Thanks for the write up.
cank is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:00 PM   #6
Brulosopher
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Brulosopher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,869
Liked 296 Times on 226 Posts
Likes Given: 200

Default

I want to do this so bad, but I've a couple questions first:

1. I don't weld and I'd prefer a weldless option anyway. Is this possible?

2. What is the best (most powerful?) element I can use in a 120v socket with 15 amp breaker?

Thanks!!
__________________
Brulosophy is a place to experiment with home brews. If you've had a crazy idea or wondered how something worked please visit us at Brulosophy.com!

List of exBEERiments

How To Easily Harvest Clean Yeast from Starters

Make Good Lager in Less Time!

Marshall "Brulosopher" Schott
Brulosopher is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:06 PM   #7
Huaco
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Huaco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Just south of Cow Town, Tx
Posts: 1,302
Liked 124 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

1500 Watt element will be JUST a little over 80% of a 15 Amp breaker load. NOW... you had BETTER be sure you are using a GFCI breaker and this is the ONLY component on that circuit while in use.
Huaco is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:36 PM   #8
Brulosopher
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Brulosopher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,869
Liked 296 Times on 226 Posts
Likes Given: 200

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huaco
1500 Watt element will be JUST a little over 80% of a 15 Amp breaker load. NOW... you had BETTER be sure you are using a GFCI breaker and this is the ONLY component on that circuit while in use.
Beautiful, thanks for the info. It is GFCI... which brings me to another question: if that GFCI controls everything in my garage, does that mean it is not on it's own circuit? Also, would that mean the GFCI might trip when, for example, my kegerator turns on?
__________________
Brulosophy is a place to experiment with home brews. If you've had a crazy idea or wondered how something worked please visit us at Brulosophy.com!

List of exBEERiments

How To Easily Harvest Clean Yeast from Starters

Make Good Lager in Less Time!

Marshall "Brulosopher" Schott
Brulosopher is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:59 PM   #9
SamHain
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 114
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cank View Post
When you say "electric assist", do you mean you use the stove and the heating element? If so, good idea.
Thanks for the write up.
Yup...I use the stove and the element at the same time. My stove wasnt enough to bring a 5 gallon batch to a boil. This setup does.

I recently found that the plug on the other side of my stove is on a separate circuit from the one I have been using. This influenced me to add another element in the same manner. I can rip into a boil now with 8 gallons in less than 15 minutes. When it hits its stride its such a violent boil its crazy.

I think I am going to change to low density 240v 6000 watt elements when these need changing.

What I have now is way over kill but I have been I have just as much fun designing and building brewing equipment as I do brewing....sometimes I think I enjoy it more.

My next quest is waterless cooling...I have a design in mind thats doesnt use any water or electricity and its the size of a shoe box.
SamHain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:13 PM   #10
SamHain
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 114
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brulosopher View Post
I want to do this so bad, but I've a couple questions first:

1. I don't weld and I'd prefer a weldless option anyway. Is this possible?I bet you could...search around here and see if anyone has done it.

2. What is the best (most powerful?) element I can use in a 120v socket with 15 amp breaker?Huaco advice is good. If your stove is powerful enough a 1500 low density element is fine. The element im using is actually 2000w element. I haven't had a problem but I have no other usage on that circuit. The cords stay cool and my circuit is a GFCI and that stays cool too. My suggestion is too see where your circuits are in the kitchen. If you can find 2 plugs from 2 different circuits that are close to your stove I would use them. Then I would get 2 240v 6000 watt elements and wire it up exactly as I did. Don't worry about the 240v part you can still use it for 120v but you will only get 25% of the wattage you would get with the 240v. This translates into 1500 watt element running at 120v. The other benefit is these will be larger low density elements, so the water will heat up more even and the wort wont scorch(though I believe scorched wort is a myth.

Thanks!!
.


SamHain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest addition to brew kettle AJC16 Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 2 08-30-2010 05:48 PM
My latest brew.... mikeyc Recipes/Ingredients 3 02-04-2009 08:41 PM
My Latest Brew NAKA Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 08-20-2008 07:20 AM
So...how's your latest brew? Cheesefood Recipes/Ingredients 10 06-30-2006 06:36 PM
Latest Brew clef All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 5 09-15-2005 10:27 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS