Advice on Enclosure Size - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Advice on Enclosure Size

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 07:22 PM   #1
Jps101
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts



All, thanks in advance for any thoughts you are willing to share. Planning a eBIAB build one 5500w element, 1 pump, emergency off switch, power on light, alarm buzzer along, power on key, element on switch and a pod 2352 most likely. What are your thoughts on H x W X D. Seems from what I have read I don't want to be any less deep than 6".

Again, thanks for the help

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:29 PM   #2
aquenne
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Paris, Ontario
Posts: 226
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Id look for something thats around 12" H x 8" W x 6" D.

but what you might want to do is draw up the envelope dimensions of each of your components in a CAD system and lay them out.

Or, if your more comfortable. Draw some full size templates of your components out on paper, and rearrange them how you'd like and it will be pretty evident what size box you will need

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:45 PM   #3
Jps101
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts


Thanks. I have been playing around with the cad drawing, but as you know, real word can sometimes be different than the drawn out world...change orders!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:56 PM   #4
dcbw
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 286
Liked 29 Times on 24 Posts


Be really careful with the depth. If you go with a 6-inch, there's not enough space for a contactor and the PID together. So when you lay it out internally, make sure they are offset so you can actually close the lid Otherwise go for an 8-inch deep enclosure which won't have this problem.

But when you're laying it out, also make sure your PIDs don't hit the power socket or the element socket by keeping them in the middle of the panel. The switches aren't usually a problem because they're only a couple inches deep.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:58 PM   #5
Jps101
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbw View Post
Be really careful with the depth. If you go with a 6-inch, there's not enough space for a contactor and the PID together. So when you lay it out internally, make sure they are offset so you can actually close the lid Otherwise go for an 8-inch deep enclosure which won't have this problem.

But when you're laying it out, also make sure your PIDs don't hit the power socket or the element socket by keeping them in the middle of the panel. The switches aren't usually a problem because they're only a couple inches deep.
Thanks...that is exactly some of the feedback I was looking for...very valuable

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:15 AM   #6
alien
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 68 Times on 59 Posts


Check out some of the controller builds that have used tool boxes for enclosures - they are wide and deep, albeit not very tall. Also portable and cheap.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:40 AM   #7
jCOSbrew
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 619
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts


My enclosure is for 12x8x6. This is a good minimum size.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:03 AM   #8
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
hudson, wi
Posts: 718
Liked 42 Times on 35 Posts


Calculate how big you think the enclosure should be and then buy one about twice as big. Seriously, you got some good advice about the depth. If I had mine to do over, I would have two control panels. One for all the controls, PIDs and switches and the other for all the high amperage stuff, e.g., contactors, SSRs, outlets, fuses or breakers and distribution blocks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:07 AM   #9
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
San Diego
Posts: 1,851
Liked 67 Times on 59 Posts


The bigger the better...I guess to a point. Mine is 12x12x6 with 2 elements and 2 pumps with 4 temp probes. Personal I'd like to add on to mine but it's as tight of a fit as I can get it right now. So Ill most likely be getting a larger panel soon.

Get you components and lay them out and measure what you will need for them to fit in comfortably, and think if you might want to expand your operations one day and how you might wan't to incorporate it in to your panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:28 PM   #10
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
hudson, wi
Posts: 718
Liked 42 Times on 35 Posts


Most people add stuff after their initial build. That is why I recommend getting a bigger panel. I added to mine, mostly to make it safer.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120V Dual Element Enclosure Size? rack04 Electric Brewing 2 09-06-2012 03:56 PM
Keezer size advice needed elCreed Kegerators & Keezers 3 04-22-2011 06:41 PM
Mash tun size advice. Mookie All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 3 12-01-2010 12:04 AM
MLT Size - Advice limprizol Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 11 09-21-2008 11:24 AM
Secondary size, and general advice? chadd Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 12 12-01-2005 07:14 AM


Forum Jump