What to ask an electrcian for? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > What to ask an electrcian for?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2013, 01:01 AM   #1
Prymal
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Pasco, Washington
Posts: 452
Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts



Hey All,

I am having an electrician out to add a 240 line for a ductless mini split hvac system. I wanted to ask him to run a second "plug" "line" for the future possibility of moving to electric. What do I want to ask them for. I would think i would run an electric brewery with 2x 5500w elements 1 in the HLT the other in the boil keetle with a herms coil and pumps.

From what I understand the 240v line I need for the hvac only requires a 15 amp breaker. I have 3 open slots on my beaker box.

With that, what do I need to ask an electrician to do?
__________________
Desert Basin Brewery
Future Brews: Brett Belgian Tripel
Fermenting:
Kegged: A Porter is Born, Night Rye-Der
Gallons Brewed 2014: 110
Gallons Brewed 2013: 115

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:06 AM   #2
rcm_rx7
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Moscow, ID
Posts: 196
Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts


You'll want a 50 amp GFCI breaker installed in the box and then you'll want him to run the line to a 4-prong outlet wherever you want it at. The 50 amp GFCI breaker may be more expensive than having him install a Spa panel.

So basically whatever is better in your electricians opinion. What you will need is 50 amps that is GFCI protected at your outlet.
__________________
Fermenting: Bells Two Hearted Clone
On Deck: Mac & Jacks
Kegged: Centennial Blonde, Citra Pale Ale, Milk Stout
Fermentation Chamber Project
Wooden Brewstand Build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:11 AM   #3
JRems
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,221
Liked 60 Times on 52 Posts


You probably would want a 50 amp outlet. You could then run 2 4500w elements at the same time. Or if you only plan on using one element at a time you can get a 30amp.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.

John53189 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:04 AM   #4
Prymal
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Pasco, Washington
Posts: 452
Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts


Thanks!
__________________
Desert Basin Brewery
Future Brews: Brett Belgian Tripel
Fermenting:
Kegged: A Porter is Born, Night Rye-Der
Gallons Brewed 2014: 110
Gallons Brewed 2013: 115

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:07 AM   #5
dwoods
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
DuBois, Pa
Posts: 72
Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts


240 volt breakers take 2 slots so you need 4 empty slots to have 2 240 breakers
__________________
“Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes & dreams. If I didn't drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, 'It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than to be selfish and worry about my liver.' ”



Jack Handy

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:21 AM   #6
ryane
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Washington
Posts: 841
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Prymal View Post
Hey All,

I am having an electrician out to add a 240 line for a ductless mini split hvac system. I wanted to ask him to run a second "plug" "line" for the future possibility of moving to electric. What do I want to ask them for. I would think i would run an electric brewery with 2x 5500w elements 1 in the HLT the other in the boil keetle with a herms coil and pumps.

From what I understand the 240v line I need for the hvac only requires a 15 amp breaker. I have 3 open slots on my beaker box.

With that, what do I need to ask an electrician to do?
Could you do your ebrewery near to where the hvac system is being powered?

If so you could ask him to set a subpanel, use a larger breaker in your main eg 80a or 100a, and have 2 separate lines out of the subpanel, 1 x 15a for your hvac and 1 x 50A for brewing

Though if your panel is full (save for 3spots) you might want to do a load calculation to see what kind of overhead you have available

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:44 AM   #7
Prymal
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Pasco, Washington
Posts: 452
Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts


The hvac system and ebrewery could easily be on opposite sides of the same wall. Hvac on the outside ebrewery in the garage.
__________________
Desert Basin Brewery
Future Brews: Brett Belgian Tripel
Fermenting:
Kegged: A Porter is Born, Night Rye-Der
Gallons Brewed 2014: 110
Gallons Brewed 2013: 115

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:08 AM   #8
ryane
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Washington
Posts: 841
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Prymal View Post
The hvac system and ebrewery could easily be on opposite sides of the same wall. Hvac on the outside ebrewery in the garage.
sounds like its a definite possibility then, if your unsure how to do this yourself theres a load calc available for estimating residential loads on mikeholt.com

http://www.mikeholt.com/documents/ca...lculations.xls

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:00 PM   #9
BadNewsBrewery
 
BadNewsBrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,248
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


You could also have him wire in only one supply to that area, and provide some form of transfer switch inside. Then you'd use the same breaker (50a) in the panel, and with the switch you'd control whether the power goes to your HVAC unit or your outlet for the brewery. You wouldn't be able to run both at the same time, but it would cut down on total equipment and wiring, and reduce your potential total load at the main.

Edit - I just saw you're in Phoenix. No AC for a few hours could be death.
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

Reason: Phoenix

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:03 PM   #10
Prymal
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Pasco, Washington
Posts: 452
Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts


hey everyone,

I finally got the electrician in to add the extra circuit. I hope I did this right. Here is a fuzzy picture of the panel. It's a 240v 30amp circuit. My plan is to run 5500w for the boil kettle and there is a 120v GFCI outlet on the same wall I can run a smaller 1500w element on for the HLT.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

And the Outlet



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Desert Basin Brewery
Future Brews: Brett Belgian Tripel
Fermenting:
Kegged: A Porter is Born, Night Rye-Der
Gallons Brewed 2014: 110
Gallons Brewed 2013: 115

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump