Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Trouble with MyPin TD4 Temp Controller
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2013, 05:13 AM   #1
Matkon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Trouble with MyPin TD4 Temp Controller

Looking for some help with my MyPin TD4 Temp Controllers. I have two hooked up to PID's and upon turning them on for the first time they are both registering a temperature over 500 degrees.

Obviously this is incorrect, and I am unable to figure out how to fix this issue.

I am not sure if it is my wiring or something I have to do with controller.

Any one have any experience with this controller who could lend some advice.

Thanks,
Matkon


Matkon is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 65 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Check the probe connections.


alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:52 PM   #3
XJHighlander
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

What Thermo are you using and what are you hooking it too? It took me a while to get mine hooked up right because the instructions are so crappy. I am using a PT100 3 wire...and had to make a short jumper wire to get it to work correctly.

Works great now
XJHighlander is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:44 PM   #4
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default

I am having some trouble hooking up my PT100 3 wire probes up to the pid. What is the propers connection scheme for the three wire (red white black) to the MyPin TD4?

Cheers
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:12 AM   #5
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,902
Liked 158 Times on 137 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

The wires should be two of the same color, and one odd one. Are you saying you have three different colored wires (the actual wires, not just the connectors)?
__________________
Keg #1: Brown Bomber Bourbon/Oak Vanilla Porter
Keg #2: The Bollocks ESB
Keg #3 Lawnmower APA
Fermenter: Empty
Bottled: Mjolnir Mead, Lazy Daze Hefe.
acidrain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 01:14 AM   #6
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default

Yes I have three different colored wires on the PT100 probe red, white, and black.
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:38 PM   #7
crane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 408
Liked 46 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need to measure the resistance between all of the wires with a multimeter. Red to black, red to white, and white to black. If you do have a 3 wire PT100 then 2 of your measurements should be 100 ohms and the third should be less than 1 ohm. The 2 wires that measure really low are the two that would normally be the same color.

If you don't measure that then you may have a 2 wire RTD with a ground shield.
crane is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:42 PM   #8
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks this helps a lot. Once I determine the low resistance wires, those go to ports 8 & 9 on the My Pin TD4?
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:51 AM   #9
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,902
Liked 158 Times on 137 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

Do you have this one? http://www.ebay.com/itm/F-C-Dual-Dis...item2570d6355a
It's 7 & 10 for the low, and 8 & 9 jumped, with A connected to either of those.
__________________
Keg #1: Brown Bomber Bourbon/Oak Vanilla Porter
Keg #2: The Bollocks ESB
Keg #3 Lawnmower APA
Fermenter: Empty
Bottled: Mjolnir Mead, Lazy Daze Hefe.
acidrain is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:47 PM   #10
winterc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cumberland, VA
Posts: 86
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I have this same PID and a PT100 thermocouple I bought from Amazon. Any way that I hook up the PT100 I get PV of UUUU, except when I hook it up in a way that seems wrong, and then I get -401. Do I need to set it up so that it displays -401 and then calibrate it somehow?


winterc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MYPin PID Temp Controller? SmokingDog Electric Brewing 11 07-24-2014 08:27 PM
MYPIN Temp Controller Parameters JBiermann Electric Brewing 1 09-13-2012 02:16 AM
Trouble wiring my ebay temp controller BigPatBrewer Kegerators and Keezers 14 11-04-2011 04:52 PM
Trouble with Johnson controller MikeRLynch Equipment/Sanitation 6 04-29-2010 12:42 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS