Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Vanilla Bourbon Stout

Old 01-18-2013, 03:35 AM   #1
johnsonbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Vanilla Bourbon Stout

This is my first time brewing this beer. It was in the primary for 14 days before I racked it over onto 8 oz of bourbon and 2 bourbon soaked vanilla beans. It has been in the secondary for 7 days. I couldn't wait any longer and wanted to see how this beer was coming along. I have to say I am impressed with this recipe.

My question is this. Since the beer has been in contact with the beans for 7 days, how much longer do you suppose I could go before the flavor of the bean is saturated and will no longer be an issue for a stronger vanilla flavor.

Like all the other beers I have brewed, the flavor seems to be most intense at kegging time, and after a few more weeks it tends to mellow out and not be as noticeable. I dont want this beer to get too strong on the vanilla side of things but I want to make sure that after a couple weeks the flavors are still going to come through.

Any ideas on what I should do?

I was also planning on adding some oak chips to this beer but I am thinking now I dont need them. I was trying to patter this beer after a local brewery but did not have a recipe and went off of one I found online. So far I think I have gotten fairly close to what I wanted and do not want to over do it with the oak. Again, any thoughts?

Old 01-18-2013, 04:13 AM   #2
Tiber_Brew
It's about the beer.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 117 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 179

I know this doesn't help you much now, but when I make this recipe (or one similar) I soak oak cubes and the vanilla beans in the bourbon in a mason jar (per each 6 gal carboy) for about a month or so in advance to brewing the beer. Then I'll pour the liquid through a SS strainer into the keg when I'm kegging.