S G in a gallon batch - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > S G in a gallon batch

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2013, 11:06 PM   #1
AZhornedtoad
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Tucson, AZ
Posts: 10



So cheap bastard that I am, I am unwilling to waste the amount of mead in a gallon batch that it takes to check SG a few times. I got one of the tiny (4") hydrometes but it doesn't really have the specific figures esp at 3 lb/gallon batches. Any suggestions, mead mates?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:41 AM   #2
Intheswamp
Recipes 
 
Nov 2012
Somewhere in south Alabama
Posts: 69
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by AZhornedtoad View Post
So cheap bastard that I am, I am unwilling to waste the amount of mead in a gallon batch that it takes to check SG a few times. I got one of the tiny (4") hydrometes but it doesn't really have the specific figures esp at 3 lb/gallon batches. Any suggestions, mead mates?
Eh, well I guess an option would be to pick up a regular hydrometer and test tube, sanitize everything thoroughly, and return the test sample to the jug. I would not do this regularly but rather at distant intervals. You run a risk of contamination doing this, but that's about the only way to check the gravity without taking out a notable percentage of your mead.

Best wishes,
Ed



 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:32 AM   #3
Lushife
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Red Bank, NJ
Posts: 706
Liked 84 Times on 64 Posts


I never tried this but can you just stick the hydrometer in the fermenter?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:35 AM   #4
Bluespark
Recipes 
 
Nov 2012
Posts: 417
Liked 27 Times on 21 Posts


I do, but I think you get a more precise reading with the tube. Regardless, sanitize lots.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:38 AM   #5
mooney
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Posts: 80
Liked 11 Times on 6 Posts


Ye I just stick it in the Demi John but unfortunately the point in the neck where you want it to be topped up to is also the pont where the glass is all distorted and curving. not so accurate readings.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:36 PM   #6
fatbloke
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
UK - South Coast.
Posts: 2,699
Liked 182 Times on 167 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Intheswamp View Post
Eh, well I guess an option would be to pick up a regular hydrometer and test tube, sanitize everything thoroughly, and return the test sample to the jug. I would not do this regularly but rather at distant intervals. You run a risk of contamination doing this, but that's about the only way to check the gravity without taking out a notable percentage of your mead.

Best wishes,
Ed
Whereas I make mostly 1 gallon batches, and just sanitise well and always return the sample to the batch.

Not had any problems doing that in 8 years......

Your meads, so up to you.....
__________________
"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away". Tom Waits.

Oh, and here's some blog stuff!

AZhornedtoad Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:40 PM   #7
Intheswamp
Recipes 
 
Nov 2012
Somewhere in south Alabama
Posts: 69
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


fb, how many times between pitching yeast and bottling do you check the sg? I would imagine that with proper cleanliness and sanitation there shouldn't be many problems returning test samples to the jug, but it seems it would be prudent to keep the number of visits to a minimum. ?

I'd like to tinker with more gallon jugs but in my initial reading about mead making I was lead to believe that returning test samples to the jug was something you didn't want to do. I'm beginning to wonder about that "understanding".

Ed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 09:03 PM   #8
AZhornedtoad
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Tucson, AZ
Posts: 10


FYI, today was Mead Making Day, mates. I started a standard Old Joes, a traditional with Trader Joes Mesquite and K1-V1116, and a local varietal acacia traditional also with K1-V1116. My baby hydrometer sez: > 1.080 for all three. Guess that'll have to be close enough for OG for me! Thanks for all the help, mead mates!



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 Gallon Batch - 10 Gallon Kettle - (2) 5 Gallon Carboys BassBeer Extract Brewing 6 10-07-2012 08:23 PM
Newbie Question - Is there an issue with using 5 gallon Keg for 2 gallon batch seander77 Bottling/Kegging 3 10-01-2012 04:41 PM
priming sugar amount for a 2.5 gallon batch in a 5 gallon keg killian Bottling/Kegging 5 10-14-2011 04:20 PM
using a half 5 gallon extract to make a 2 gallon batch ritchie Extract Brewing 2 01-18-2011 12:13 AM
3 gallon batch fermentation in a 8 gallon bucket bad idea? blobs Fermentation & Yeast 5 03-30-2010 05:15 PM


Forum Jump