Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Can a 15 Gal batch be done in 20 Gal BK?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 11:37 PM   #1
Ricand
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 722
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Can a 15 Gal batch be done in 20 Gal BK?

I want to move up to 15 gal batches, but the biggest BK that will fit on my Brutus 10 is a tall 19.8 gallon kettle. My friend said he didn't think there was enough head room for expansion, evaporation volume and boiling. I must suck at searching cause I can't find any threads referencing BK sizes, just MTs.


__________________
If I was too drunk to remember it, it didn't happen.

If you got a good liver.. use it! - wife
Ricand is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:55 PM   #2
dale1038
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 431
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default

I don't see a problem. You're still only boiling off a gallon or so regardless of batch size. I use fermcap though, so your boil up may be pretty severe. If it is, I would grab a 2 buck bottle of fermcap and have at it.


dale1038 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #3
Ricand
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 722
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dale1038 View Post
I don't see a problem. You're still only boiling off a gallon or so regardless of batch size. I use fermcap though, so your boil up may be pretty severe. If it is, I would grab a 2 buck bottle of fermcap and have at it.
Thanks, it's what I was thinking too. I can be careful with boil over issues, I like my silicon in boobs. I was hoping someone would jump on here and say they were doing it with or without a problem.
__________________
If I was too drunk to remember it, it didn't happen.

If you got a good liver.. use it! - wife
Ricand is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:16 PM   #4
Ajgeo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 136
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Same question was asked about a year ago. I do it, but I use fermcap. I start with around 18.5 gallons and usually end up with 15.5 to 16 gallons in a 20 gallon Blichmann. It is close and I have never tried it without fermcap.
Ajgeo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:22 PM   #5
Ricand
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 722
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajgeo View Post
Same question was asked about a year ago. I do it, but I use fermcap. I start with around 18.5 gallons and usually end up with 15.5 to 16 gallons in a 20 gallon Blichmann. It is close and I have never tried it without fermcap.
Thank you sir, like I said I must suck at searching.

/thread
__________________
If I was too drunk to remember it, it didn't happen.

If you got a good liver.. use it! - wife
Ricand is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:28 PM   #6
Ajgeo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 136
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

No problem. I don't think it is you, the search on this site is terrible. I usually google my questions and find HBT in the results.
Ajgeo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:17 AM   #7
Clef051
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: north rose, ny
Posts: 186
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

I just did a 20 gallon batch in a 26 gallon pot so I don't see a problem here. i had to watch the boil pretty closely at first but I didn't have a boil over. there was about 2-3" of space left at the top of the kettle.
Clef051 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:26 PM   #8
rvklein
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 559
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

two things:

1) Watch your hops additions. May want to turn down the heat when first adding them
2) spoon off the protein foam as you ramp up to a boil
__________________
Tapped-Out Brewing & Pub Build
rvklein is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:58 PM   #9
Monster Mash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,323
Liked 88 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I do 25 gallons in a 30 gallon pot, I just keep a close eye on it and I rarely have boil overs.

__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics
Monster Mash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:08 PM   #10
StMarcos
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 960
Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I do '15' gal batches in a 25gal megapot. I like to get 16.5gal into the hemoth fermenter. About a gallon in thermal contraction, and 3 for boiloff. Puts me at 20.5gal. I wouldn't want anything smaller than the 25gal pot I use. Certainly could make it work with a smaller pot, but 20gal would definitely be too small in my book.


StMarcos is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reducing a all grain batch to a smaller test batch mortus0868 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 08-26-2014 03:06 AM
SMaSH BIAB - low gravity batch? or smaller batch? signpost General Beer Discussion 10 10-23-2012 12:34 AM
4th Batch, 1st AG - Water, BeerSmith, Batch Sparge Questions delucr Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 12-20-2011 01:50 AM
Yes! Batch#3 under my belt! First mini-mash! First taste of Batch#2! Rook Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 03-05-2007 02:14 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS