Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > High Gravity Yeast

Old 01-04-2013, 02:45 PM   #1
jonwolo123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default High Gravity Yeast

I am fairly new to homebrewing...I'm about to start my 5th batch since tossing my Mr. Beer kit in favor of a real kit. I am about to do a Imperial IPA, which I am trying to build a big hop profile, so I built it with a very high OG. The recipe is here: http://hopville.com/recipe/1660766

I am planning on using two packs of Wyeast 1272: American Ale II with a yeast starter so it can handle the gravity and ferment it down where I want it. My question is, will this be sufficient to handle the OG, or is there a better way to do it?

I have also read using four to five packs of yeast is a good idea for something this high.

Old 01-04-2013, 03:07 PM   #2
Grannyknot
Recipes 

Liked 142 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 90

Rather than buy several smack packs, why not just do a 2 step starter?
You should be able to get close enough to the required cell count doing that, even without a stir plate.

On Deck: Citra IPA, American Sour IPA Little River Brown Ale

Old 01-04-2013, 03:18 PM   #3
aiptasia
Recipes 

Liked 534 Times on 471 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Via Mr. Malty, three packs without a starter should be adequate for a 5 gallon batch provided they're nice and fresh. I'm interested in why this particular strain of yeast? It looks like this strain adds citrus flavor when you already have a ton of citrus rind coming from your hops choices. I might opt for a cleaner, dryer yeast such as WLP007 or Super San Diego.

2014: Seven Heavens Series One: Vilon, Mystic Melomel, Skeeter Pee.

Old 01-04-2013, 03:29 PM   #4
hairy
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I have an even better idea which i love to use. Buy a pack of yeast, brew a smaller beer with it, a pale ale for eg. Harvest the yeast and use it for the next batch.