Spa Panel Breaker won't Flip to "On" - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa Panel Breaker won't Flip to "On"

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
biertourist
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Woodinville, WA
Posts: 861
Liked 124 Times on 93 Posts



*Sigh*

I've finished wiring my control panel and did an initial test using 2 extension cords plugged into different 120v circuits (yes, I know). Now I've wired up my Home Depot 50 amp GFCI spa breaker panel and... nothing...

I've wired it identically to PJ's diagram here:

But the breaker just won't flip over successfully to the "on" position...
I pressed the "test" button before doing anything else and now it just won't flip to the "on" position...

I can take a picture of how it's wired and post it here tonight to assure everyone but it really looks like it's wired perfectly. What are the odds of getting a bad GFCI breaker? -What are the odds of returning it after I've cut holes in the box and knocked out the knock outs?


This sucks, I'm SOO close to being able to power this thing up and now I'm stuck...



Adam



 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:47 PM   #2
biertourist
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Woodinville, WA
Posts: 861
Liked 124 Times on 93 Posts


I wan't to clarify that the breaker isn't quickly resetting or anything scary like that; it just won't "click" to the on position.
(When plugged in or unplugged.)

I'm using a 4 wire, 50amp electric range plug as my power input.

Adam



 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:12 PM   #3
Gunfighter04
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sugar Grove, Pa
Posts: 341
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts


Turn off the breaker feeding this panel in your main panel and see if the breaker remains latched. If not I'd say the gfci is mechanically deficient. If it does remain latched then the wiring is wrong.
__________________
WOODY: Hey, Mr. Peterson, there's a cold one waiting for you.
NORM: I know. If she calls, I'm not here.

Keg1: Edmund Fitzgerald Clone
Keg2: Innis and Gunn Clone
Bottled: Belgian Strong
Primary: Southern Pecan Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:57 PM   #4
Sparky
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Muir Beach, California
Posts: 291
Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts


Breakers can be deceiving. A new breaker typically comes in a tripped (middle position). You need to flip the breaker all the way in the off position, first (it will click). Then, throw it on.

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:40 AM   #5
milesvdustin
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 630
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts


Yep click it all the way off and then all the way on. Gfci breakers are strange like that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsethall View Post
It's like a big hot douche for my brewery.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:42 AM   #6
WhiskeySam
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Dallas, Texas
Posts: 163
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts


Not just gfi's. residential breakers trip to the middle position. With only a few exceptions, they all have to be switched off, then on.
__________________
In the Keg (1) -- Pecan Brown
In the Keg (2) -- Mosaic SMaSH
In the Keg (3) -- Centennial IPA

Fermenting (1) -- Oktoberfest
Fermenting (2) -- ESB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:53 AM   #7
milesvdustin
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 630
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts


Hm, I don't recall the ones in my house being that way. I'll have to check that out!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsethall View Post
It's like a big hot douche for my brewery.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:09 PM   #8
biertourist
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Woodinville, WA
Posts: 861
Liked 124 Times on 93 Posts


I REALLY had to click it way off; this WAS the problem, embarrassingly enough.


Now the full control panel powers up correctly EXCEPT for the power out to my elements and my indicator lights (240v in-line with the elements).... It only registers up to 120v with the multimeter and the kettle element's contactor puts out a pretty loud hum (less loud when the element is connected)...


Time to T-shoot with my schematic and multimeter tonight...


Adam

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:15 AM   #9
biertourist
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Woodinville, WA
Posts: 861
Liked 124 Times on 93 Posts


Ok, guys I need some help here.

I've got 120v going to each of my elements but the side that's SUPPOSED to be coming through the SSR isn't being passed. I've got 120v hot going into the SSR (new FORTEX) but nothing coming out...

-I also don't see any voltage passing to the SSR coming from the PID controller -I'm expecting that there should be 12v or 24v showing up but I'm not seeing anything. Can someone help me troubleshoot this?

-The light isn't on on the SSR but I just don't know if the SSR is bad, something is programmed incorrectly with the PID controller, or the PID has something wrong with it --where do I go from here?

It's been almost 5 months since I started this build and I'm SOO close to being able to brew again and this is just driving me crazy!


Adam

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:53 AM   #10
sicklesr
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Albany, NY
Posts: 138
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Whats your wiring diagram?

Also, what PID are you using?

If it's the Auber 2352, I may be able to help...



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"American" or "Imperial" Oatmeal Stout Recipe: Critiques please! cladinshadows Recipes/Ingredients 5 11-23-2015 11:14 PM
Such a thing as "Black Friday" or "cyber Monday" for homebrew supply? StusBrew General Beer Discussion 37 11-30-2013 12:07 AM
WTS/WTT "German" Flip Top Bottles Chingis74 For Sale 9 10-01-2012 06:25 PM
"Researchers find "alarming" decline in bumblebees" (as well as honeybees) minsco1 Mead Forum 5 01-07-2011 07:28 PM


Forum Jump