Electric Brewery Build with Coolers. - Page 3 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electric Brewery Build with Coolers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 11:20 PM   #21
ssimkins
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Hemet, CA
Posts: 40

I just realized that I should utilize that switch that I was going to use for the PID on/off, for switching between the temp probes. Since I only have one PID and two elements, I will also have two temp probes for two vessels. Instead of unplugging and plugging different probes, I should be able to just use a switch. Simple enough...

I also added my wire list the the planned order.

I think I am real close to ordering.

I think it is a good thing, but I tend to really over think things...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:56 PM   #22
goybar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Southern Maine
Posts: 252
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


if you are using the pid on two different vessels wouldn't that mess up the autotune functionality? or will the other vessel strictly be in manual mode for the boil?

chris

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:08 AM   #23
BadNewsBrewery
 
BadNewsBrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,244
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


It will indeed mess up the tune some, but assuming the two vessels are similar enough it shouldn't matter too much.
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:34 PM   #24
ssimkins
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Hemet, CA
Posts: 40

I didnt even think about the auto tune, but as BadNewsBrewery says, I dont think it will be too far off. Both vessels are very similar in size and shape. I am hoping that it will be fine.

Has anybody heard of the Large Enclosure from Auber not being big enough for these types of builds? I wanted to go with this one because it is cheaper than anything else in that size range. It is also precut for the heat sink.

Sean

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:16 PM   #25
smittygouv30
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


I'm pretty sure you will have no issues. I am ordering the same one and am going to try to squeeze 2 PIDs and a timer into it. The issue I see with the size is mostly the depth of the enclosure not so much the height/width. It is only 5.5" deep and that might cause some issues as the PID is also fairly deep. I'm not sure what if anything will be able to sit directly under the PID area. I feel like the depth of the PIDs are around 3" if I remember reading the manual correctly. This might require some creative staggering of stuff inside the panel.

Corey

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:58 PM   #26
ssimkins
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Hemet, CA
Posts: 40

Cool! Thanks Corey! I will be ordering all of my parts today.

I will keep you guys updated!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:49 AM   #27
smittygouv30
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


Good luck! I got my mouser order today, its so exciting once they all start flowing in!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 05:23 AM   #28
ssimkins
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Hemet, CA
Posts: 40

Parts are staring to roll in and I ended up going with the key switch and started to do research on how to add it to my system plans but every plan I see has either a contactor or relay added to make it work. Is that right? I guess I should have asked prior to the order...haha!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:07 PM   #29
smittygouv30
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


Yea, when I was planning my build Ryan from ebrewsupply warned me about that. Unfortunately, the key switch is only rated for 5 or 10 amps (something like that) and therefore requires a contactor that can handle the juice required by your set-up. It would be the same scenario no matter if you used a key switch or a regular 2-way switch.

p.s. If that's the only thing you forgot to order you are in VERY good shape! Every body likes to pay extra shipping and handling charges anyway.

Corey

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:14 PM   #30
BadNewsBrewery
 
BadNewsBrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,244
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


You can get a 40a contactor from the Auber Ins for not much and they're easy to install.
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Electric Brewery Build! jbsengineer Electric Brewing 186 01-26-2016 12:51 AM
My electric brewery build MadGus Electric Brewing 120 05-04-2014 07:50 PM
Help with Electric Brewery/ My electric Brewery Build WiseEyes Electric Brewing 3 11-08-2012 12:26 AM
Three E's Electric Brewery Build EuBrew Electric Brewing 54 01-08-2011 08:11 AM
My electric brewery build Suicided1954 Brew Stands 21 03-10-2010 04:06 AM


Forum Jump