Think I screwed up pitching liuis yeast - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Think I screwed up pitching liuis yeast

Old 12-28-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
donnelj
Recipes 

Dec 2012
New Baltimore, MI

I'm a noob on my second batch a Dark Winter Wheat kit. It was recommended that I substitute the powder yeast pack with a pouch of liquid yeast. The directions on the kit didn't really explain the process of prepping the yeast. When it came time for pitching yeast, I just took the pouch out of the fridge sanitized the outside of the pack, cut it and poured it in. Oops ... There was a second Pouch in the pouch. After looking at the packet I realized that I was supposed to squeeze it to break the inner packet and let it sit at room temp for a couple hours. Crap! Now what?

So I just cut open the inner packet and poured that into the wort too. Is there any chance this batch will still turn out? Is there anything I can do now to help it? Should just pour it out and count it as the cost of education? Advice please?

Old 12-28-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
donnelj
Recipes 

Dec 2012
New Baltimore, MI

Sorry. The title of the thread should say "liquid yeast"

Old 12-28-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
MrOrange

Recipes 

Jul 2011
Louisville, KY
Liked 32 Times on 26 Posts

DO NOT POUR IT OUT. The beer will turn out fine. One issue with liquid yeast is that one packet normally doesn't have the cell count needed for a five gallon batch and that is why you will hear people talking about making starters. Next time you pitch liquid yeast try making a starter or pitching multiple pouches. There are multiple yeast pitching rate calculator on the internet (http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html). Once again your beer will be fine.

Old 12-28-2012, 08:47 PM   #4
donnelj
Recipes 

Dec 2012
New Baltimore, MI

So does that mean that the fermentation process could take longer than the recommended 7-10 days?

Old 12-28-2012, 09:48 PM   #5
MrOrange