Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Using US water heater in europe?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
Dogtrash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 19
Default Using US water heater in europe?

I bought those 5500 w camco from amazon.
I just wonder how i should wire them up.
In KAL's description it looks like 2 120v wires to The element to make 240 v .
Or is it one 240 hot and one zero/neutral and one ground/earth
Wondering cause My grid is 240v
Can i really use those element

Did anyone understod My question due to My poor english


Dogtrash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 10:49 AM   #2
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,640
Liked 281 Times on 224 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Firstly, I had no idea english was not your first language!
Check the voltage rating of your element and check the actual voltage of your supply. If the rated voltage is higher than you supply voltage the first check is ok (note: sometimes even though it is common to refer to the supply as XXX voltage, the actual supply voltage can be different due to what is regulated by law in your country)
Second, if the voltage is ok, check that the current or watts that the element will draw is less than what you circuit will supply (usually based on what size circuit breaker is installed).
If you need anymore help just let us know what ratings each item has and we can advise further


mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 11:24 AM   #3
Dogtrash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 19
Default

My main circuit breaker is 25 amp porcelin breaker.
Ive got acces to 3-phase 400v 16amp 5-wiring. Dunno if thats of any use.

These Are The elements by The way.
My main question was if really can use this.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	244
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	88588  
Dogtrash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 03:59 PM   #4
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You can use the element @230v line / neutral. but you may be overloading your service.
grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
Dogtrash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks for reply.
Thats god news so you suggest i should ramp up My circuit to 30 amp.
Thats no problem. But i thought i might get away with 25 amp.
Dogtrash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:59 PM   #6
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,640
Liked 281 Times on 224 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogtrash View Post
Thanks for reply.
Thats god news so you suggest i should ramp up My circuit to 30 amp.
Thats no problem. But i thought i might get away with 25 amp.
Check the element when you get it to make sure that rating in the listing is actually what is correct for the element.
Assumed it is correct, 5500W @ 240V = 22.92A. For intermittent use your 25A circuit should be good.
Don't know how you wiring is done but I would not expect upgrade to a 30 amp circuit to be easy, you will need new wiring in the walls, new circuit breaker, etc. and most likely need to pay a certified sparky for some or all of it depending on you local laws
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:25 AM   #7
Dogtrash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 19
Default

Just spoke with My sparky. And its no problem to upgrade. But its real expensive.
Do i have to shut Down The rest of My house when i wanna fire up My brewery @25amp breaker
Or should i just order a set of 4500w elements instead.
Can i hook up an 3-phase 400volt 6-9kw element with The original guts of kals. That way i can get The amps down alot.

Btw do you have any other name for "intermittent"? Didnt really quite understand the meaning of that Word
Dogtrash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:21 AM   #8
GilSwillBasementBrews
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,214
Liked 177 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Intermittent = occasional or not long term.
__________________
Beer Plus Science = .....Good!!!!! By: Adam Savage
GilSwillBasementBrews is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:12 AM   #9
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,640
Liked 281 Times on 224 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogtrash View Post
Just spoke with My sparky. And its no problem to upgrade. But its real expensive.
Do i have to shut Down The rest of My house when i wanna fire up My brewery @25amp breaker
Or should i just order a set of 4500w elements instead.
Can i hook up an 3-phase 400volt 6-9kw element with The original guts of kals. That way i can get The amps down alot.

Btw do you have any other name for "intermittent"? Didnt really quite understand the meaning of that Word
Depends what else is run from that breaker. Most houses are fitted with multiple breakers so each one only supplies power to a portion of the total outlets in the house.
Another thing to check will be your wall socket outlet rating. In New Zealand most common wall sockets are only rated for 10 amps but the circuit is rated for 20 amps total. This means you can run 2x 10 amp loads on one circuit but can't run a 20 amp load from one socket.
The 3-phase element will not help you unless you have 3-phase power to your house. Most 3-phase elements I have seen are basically 3 single phase elements in one package.
As Gil said "Intermittent = occasional or not long term." basically how it has been explained to me is anything over 20 hours of continous power triggers the 80% rule, again this is probably different in you country so check with the sparky.
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:44 PM   #10
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Id go with the 480v elements. that would solve much of your problem right off.


grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
on demand mash heater (water heater) killerzeek Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 2 09-17-2012 01:09 PM
water heater hot water tank? Pimp Juice Equipment/Sanitation 10 10-23-2011 06:37 AM
What Can You Do With an Old Water Heater ere109 Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 35 05-06-2011 02:46 PM
Tankless Water Heater for Sparge water? passedpawn Equipment/Sanitation 38 06-07-2010 03:32 PM
Water Heater batfishdog37 Equipment/Sanitation 7 04-02-2009 09:21 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS