I know I'm beating a dead horse here, but... - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > I know I'm beating a dead horse here, but...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 02:29 AM   #1
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 401
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts



I wanted to discuss the merits of connecting a spa panel GFI to a 3-wire dryer outlet vs. having a 4-wire outlet installed. I know that the connection to the 3-wire outlet is safe, but I've had an electrician quote $275 to add a new breaker and line and don't really know if it's worth it. Seems pretty damn high to me, so maybe a different electrician might quote lower, but the question remains.

Use the 3-wire, or have an electrician add a new circuit?

P.S.
The one other variable is that he'd put the new outlet outside, so I wouldn't have to run my cable through a window or door for brew day.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:01 AM   #2
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 401
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


Anyone?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:33 AM   #3
TJTHEBEST
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Arcata, Ca
Posts: 149
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


its a dead horse... which means its already been beaten to death.. do a search

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:37 AM   #4
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 401
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


Clearly I've done a search and read a lot about it. Thanks for being so friendly.

Just wanted some discussion about my specific situation.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:42 AM   #5
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


run a straight 240 volt system using the 3 wire system you already have. plug your pumps into a wall outlet. everything properly grounded. no problem.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:59 AM   #6
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 401
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


Wait, why would I run my pumps on a wall outlet? Should be fine pulling 120V from the 3-wire, yes?

Also, my control panel is already done, and I don't want to re-wire it if I don't have to.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:05 AM   #7
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


The problem you have with your dryer circuit is that you are short one conductor (wire) by running your pumps are the only thing that actually needs a neutral conductor. your pid and contactors (if you used 240v contactors) don't require a neutral conductor... Problem solved

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:08 AM   #8
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,851
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


Yes you can pull the 120V pumps from one leg of the 240.

Yes, the whole thing will work fine off 240V 3 wire. Ground all exposed metal to a a ground wire that bypasses the spa panel, connecting to the neutral before it reaches the panel. So, H-H-N to the spa panel, then use 4-wire H-H-N-G to the control box. 240V devices get wired H-H, 120V devices get wired H-N, and all exposed metal is tied to G. This way the GFCI will trip.

This is not ideal because you've got a ground wire tied to a neutral which is carrying current (the return from the 120V devices). But it will all work fine and might still save your life. If the neutral is loose going to the panel, and you get a live short in the pot, you might have a problem (besides the pumps not working), but you'll be the first to know.

Boy I'll bet I'll pay for responding to this thread. Damn the torpedos!
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:09 AM   #9
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 401
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


I'm not following you completely, but I understand I only have 3-wires with no ground. However, following P-Js diagram to hook up a GFI spa panel to a 3-wire outlet, it should work correctly, yes? That was my understanding.

The control panel is done I've been using it for a while. I already own the spa panel. Minimizing the changes is important to me.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:11 AM   #10
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,851
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by kerklein2 View Post
I'm not following you completely, but I understand I only have 3-wires with no ground. However, following P-Js diagram to hook up a GFI spa panel to a 3-wire outlet, it should work correctly, yes? That was my understanding.

The control panel is done I've been using it for a while. I already own the spa panel. Minimizing the changes is important to me.
I've never looked at a P-J drawing. Can't help you there. I built my two panels well before he was a member here.

If you're not comfortable with it, just get a electrician buddy to help you.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beating a dead horse..secondary or not? OHIOSTEVE General Techniques 55 01-27-2012 04:58 PM
Beating a dead horse (fly sparging)... jshively All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 4 12-22-2011 12:12 AM
Beating a dead horse here... AUMonkeyBoy General Beer Discussion 7 10-12-2011 03:01 PM
Dead horse need beating... olllllo General Chit Chat 20 07-05-2007 12:32 AM
Beating a dead horse Ninkasi Equipment/Sanitation 6 02-06-2007 02:23 AM


Forum Jump