Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Fermentation Temperature

Old 12-06-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
AaronM
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Fermentation Temperature

Greetings All,

I have just registered and am new to the forum and wanted to say hello! I am new to brewing at home and have just begun fermenting my first batch. I have a quick question that I am hoping someone can help me with. My wort was fermenting like mad and I went to sleep. When I woke up, the temperature of the wort had increased to 78 degrees and the fermentation has slowed WAY down. I have made a swamp cooler and the temperature is now at 69 degrees. The airlock is burping about once every 10 seconds. Will the beer be damaged because of the rapid change in temperature? Is there anything else that I need to be worried about? Thank you for all your comments and advice! My apologies for putting this thread in 2 places as I didn't see the Beginners Brewing Forum initially.

Old 12-06-2012, 06:35 PM   #2
AaronM
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

FYI. The temperature has been at a steady 66 degrees for the past 3 hours.

Old 12-06-2012, 06:38 PM   #3
cluckk
Recipes 

Liked 356 Times on 228 Posts
Likes Given: 47