When to condition water?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_T

Reaction score
My report is at the bottom. I am a noob. I have trial version of BeerSmith. I see there is a tool to match a given city's profile. I assume that means you just add minerals as prescribed at the beginning, and brew.

In How to Brew I am a bit confused by the mash pH chapter. At first he says just adjust the mash pH after you add your grains. Then he goes on to show how to adjust your water to aim for a target mash pH.

My first basic question is whether all the nomograph stuff in HtB is aimed at preemptively trying to target for a mash pH, or if it is for adjusting.

My water is soft, and sort of like Pilsener, Czech. I am brewing my 3rd batch and I am going to try for a high gravity dark beer.

If I am going to just adjust the mash directly, how/when do I do that? Can I use any pH strip? HtB would seem to recommend using a combo of baking soda and chalk in my case. I guess I have low sodium so at least that allows me to add some baking soda and still keep sodium level in check.

It seems to me that would hit a desired pH, but I am trying a high gravity beer. What about Mg for yeast nutrient? My water is light in so many areas. Perhaps I should be doing some adjustment up front?

Sodium, Na 9
Potassium, K < 1
Calcium, Ca 7
Magnesium, Mg 2
Total Hardness, CaCO3 26
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.2
Sulfate, SO4-S 2
Chloride, Cl 6
Carbonate, CO3 6
Bicarbonate, HCO3 26
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 31
"<" - Not Det