Will I Trip A Breaker? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Will I Trip A Breaker?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 08:34 PM   #1
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,007
Liked 87 Times on 71 Posts



I'm buying an 1800w Burton Induction plate for my 2.5gl batch brewery. It will be in my basement and looking at my breaker it's only 15 amp and runs all the lights, computer, water heater exhaust and tv. This little 1800w thing is going to trip that breaker, isn't it? Any suggestions?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:44 PM   #2
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
, Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,891
Liked 527 Times on 400 Posts


Well, 1800w @ 120volt = 15 Amps, so yeah....at full power it's gonna blow the breaker. You'll need to find another circuit to feed the plate. Sounds like you need a dedicated 20Amp circuit for that baby.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,555
Liked 1029 Times on 699 Posts


I could be really easy to add a receptacle if your breaker panel is in the basement and you have a spare breaker or space to add one.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:33 PM   #4
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,007
Liked 87 Times on 71 Posts


That's what I thought, panel is in the basement 30' away and it has room for a couple more breakers so I guess I have another project.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:39 PM   #5
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,555
Liked 1029 Times on 699 Posts


That's the attitude! Once you start brewing projects, you should NEVER be done....

neosapien Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:56 AM   #6
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,007
Liked 87 Times on 71 Posts


I also have a 20a circuit that has my microwave only on it. I could tap into it and just not use the microwave when brewing.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:04 AM   #7
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,251
Liked 128 Times on 101 Posts


Hope you live alone? Know at my house, a @#%! bag of popcorn would certainly take precedence over whatever ol' hubby/dad is doing in the basement.......

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:07 AM   #8
mgortel
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Stewartstown, PA
Posts: 871
Liked 49 Times on 38 Posts


Just make sure you unplug microwave before using Induction Plate

Maybe leave a note not to use.....
__________________
EVERYONE is entitled to my opinion!
Primary: None
Secondary: Chocolate milk Stout
Upcoming Brews: Dusseldorf Alt
Kegged: Biermuncher Centenniel Blonde

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:08 AM   #9
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,251
Liked 128 Times on 101 Posts


You could run a dedicated circuit for less than $50......Ya only live once!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,007
Liked 87 Times on 71 Posts


I ran the wire today and have an electrician coming out tomorrow to hook up the breaker. Might as well get it done right and safe.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP GFI Breaker louie0202 Electric Brewing 6 09-27-2012 01:54 PM
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
Cheap 30 amp GFI breaker brewhokie Electric Brewing 5 01-28-2012 06:59 PM
main breaker box - relationship of main breaker to others badmajon Brew Stands 4 03-20-2011 10:53 PM
Why did my circit breaker pop? Photopilot Equipment/Sanitation 35 03-11-2010 05:35 PM


Forum Jump