Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Will I Trip A Breaker?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 08:34 PM   #1
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 870
Liked 73 Times on 57 Posts

Default Will I Trip A Breaker?

I'm buying an 1800w Burton Induction plate for my 2.5gl batch brewery. It will be in my basement and looking at my breaker it's only 15 amp and runs all the lights, computer, water heater exhaust and tv. This little 1800w thing is going to trip that breaker, isn't it? Any suggestions?


wobdee is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:44 PM   #2
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,796
Liked 477 Times on 365 Posts
Likes Given: 743

Default

Well, 1800w @ 120volt = 15 Amps, so yeah....at full power it's gonna blow the breaker. You'll need to find another circuit to feed the plate. Sounds like you need a dedicated 20Amp circuit for that baby.


Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,340
Liked 937 Times on 628 Posts
Likes Given: 751

Default

I could be really easy to add a receptacle if your breaker panel is in the basement and you have a spare breaker or space to add one.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:33 PM   #4
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 870
Liked 73 Times on 57 Posts

Default

That's what I thought, panel is in the basement 30' away and it has room for a couple more breakers so I guess I have another project.
wobdee is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:39 PM   #5
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,340
Liked 937 Times on 628 Posts
Likes Given: 751

Default

That's the attitude! Once you start brewing projects, you should NEVER be done....
lschiavo is offline
neosapien Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:56 AM   #6
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 870
Liked 73 Times on 57 Posts

Default

I also have a 20a circuit that has my microwave only on it. I could tap into it and just not use the microwave when brewing.
wobdee is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:04 AM   #7
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,252
Liked 124 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Hope you live alone? Know at my house, a @#%! bag of popcorn would certainly take precedence over whatever ol' hubby/dad is doing in the basement.......
501irishred is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:07 AM   #8
mgortel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stewartstown, PA
Posts: 861
Liked 48 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Just make sure you unplug microwave before using Induction Plate

Maybe leave a note not to use.....
__________________
EVERYONE is entitled to my opinion!
Primary: None
Secondary: Chocolate milk Stout
Upcoming Brews: Dusseldorf Alt
Kegged: Biermuncher Centenniel Blonde
mgortel is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:08 AM   #9
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,252
Liked 124 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

You could run a dedicated circuit for less than $50......Ya only live once!
501irishred is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 870
Liked 73 Times on 57 Posts

Default

I ran the wire today and have an electrician coming out tomorrow to hook up the breaker. Might as well get it done right and safe.


wobdee is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP GFI Breaker louie0202 Electric Brewing 6 09-27-2012 01:54 PM
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
Cheap 30 amp GFI breaker brewhokie Electric Brewing 5 01-28-2012 06:59 PM
main breaker box - relationship of main breaker to others badmajon Brew Stands 4 03-20-2011 10:53 PM
Why did my circit breaker pop? Photopilot Equipment/Sanitation 35 03-11-2010 05:35 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS