Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Brewing outside with lots of trees around

Old 12-03-2012, 06:16 PM   #1
heyyybabbitt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brewing outside with lots of trees around

I just started brewing outside, and the last 3 batches I've brewed have either created gushers or formed white layers on top while fermenting, so it's safe to say I'm picking up a contamination somewhere.
I'm a clean freak and I PBW and Iodophor everything specifically according to directions. So I can be assured its not a sanitation issue. (Many years of restaurant experience, I know the importance of sanitation VERY well)

Here are some variables:

- My yard is totally covered in trees, so I wanted to know if this could be an issue where pollen from the trees was falling and making it more likely that wild yeast got in my beer.
- By the time I'm done with the brew its almost dark out. Are wild yeasties more active at that time of day?
- is it OK to cover the wort at the end of the boil? I've heard it wasn't a good idea but can't find anything to back up the claim.
- could my aluminum kettle be to blame? (I know, I know... I'm ordering a SS after Xmas) Is aluminum more porous than SS?

Anyone have any advice about what I might be doing wrong, or what I can do to avoid wild yeast outside? I just can't bear to dump any more batches. And I'm not that big of a lambic fan to make the switch to drinking ONLY lambic.

Thanks

Old 12-03-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
Monster Mash
Recipes 

Liked 88 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 12

It is fine to cover the pot after flame out, you have already boiled off the volatile compounds at that point. If you are using an IC you can get a lid and notch it so the chiller goes through it.

Old 12-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #3
45_70sharps
Recipes 

Liked 172 Times on 141 Posts
Likes Given: 136

I brew outside and have tree's near by. Could be the type of tree's though.