Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Two Power Sources in One Control Panel
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 03:50 PM   #11
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks for the input Kal. This whole concept seems to be a bit of a stumper. I haven't been able to find anything on the web regarding this in any electrical/diy forums.

The reasoning behind my whole idea to use two power sources is to be able to brew back-to-back batches like your 50a setup, though I'm limited by my 30a dryer plug. By essentially running two systems within one panel, I hope to use the 120v 15a source to heat my HLT and the 240v 30a source to run the rest of the control panel.

I notice with your theatre amplifier example that both plugs look as if they're 15a service. Therefore, any fault would not exceed 15a and would run out either 14AWG ground wire.

The dilemma that we're wrestling with for a two power source panel is a short on the 30a side of the panel travelling down the 15a (14AWG) ground.


Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:01 PM   #12
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,685
Liked 135 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Deleted.


__________________
Drinking: Craptastic Cream Ale
Primary: Scottish Wee Heavy
whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:05 PM   #13
kal
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,306
Liked 254 Times on 172 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Correct. Using proper wire size is fundamental. I'd probably use 10ga for both grounds.

Kal
kal is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:23 PM   #14
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 944 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 775

Default

I have three feeds in conduit from my loadcenter to my control panel. Technically the metal conduit is sufficient for equipment ground but I chose to run an additional equipment ground which is sized for the largest overcurrent device or 50A = #10ga. This one equipment ground covers all the feeds per NEC 250.122(C). If you are running individual cables like romex for example, each cable must have it's own equipment ground. They all get tied together in your control panel and you essentially have several parallel equipment grounds which when added will end up exceeding the minimum requirement for a conduit.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:29 PM   #15
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default

What are the three feeds that you have coming into your control panel?
Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:30 PM   #16
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,685
Liked 135 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Hmmm...interesting.

So even though the hot wires originate at separate breakers the grounding wires within these cables can be considered parallel connections, or do you just consider the individual cables as separate entities (which ends up being the same net result)?
__________________
Drinking: Craptastic Cream Ale
Primary: Scottish Wee Heavy
whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:35 PM   #17
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 944 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 775

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chugmaster View Post
What are the three feeds that you have coming into your control panel?
50A/240V - HLT - 11kW
30A/240V - BK - 4.5kW
20A/120V - CONTROL POWER AND PUMPS, LIGHTED BEER SIGN AND DECORATIVE BREWERY LIGHTING
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:51 AM   #18
porcupine73
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Meade
Posts: 813
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 514

Default

If doing it of course you must keep neutrals separate and use the incoming hot with the corresponding neutral. If doing it in conduit I would run each circuit in its own conduit lest you get into deratings for more than three current carrying conductors in the same conduit.
porcupine73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:42 AM   #19
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 944 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 775

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post
Hmmm...interesting.

So even though the hot wires originate at separate breakers the grounding wires within these cables can be considered parallel connections, or do you just consider the individual cables as separate entities (which ends up being the same net result)?
Yes, I think...The ground per cable is most likely required for some guy accidentally cutting through it with a sawzall. It's grounding overkill to run separate cables.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:48 AM   #20
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 944 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 775

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porcupine73 View Post
If doing it of course you must keep neutrals separate and use the incoming hot with the corresponding neutral. If doing it in conduit I would run each circuit in its own conduit lest you get into deratings for more than three current carrying conductors in the same conduit.
Derating has to be considered but unless you are getting over 10 current carrying conductors is easily met. We always fill 1-in conduit home runs from the panel. It is most cost effective for conduit and copper.


lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel: Too Much Power? mosstradamus Electric Brewing 21 12-03-2012 11:04 PM
Control Panel Power Connection advice needed. IEC? Twang Electric Brewing 3 04-15-2011 04:51 PM
Control panel main power switch...what are you using? Ranger9913 Brew Stands 6 03-12-2010 05:20 PM
Control Panel Power Distribution illin8 Brew Stands 19 03-03-2010 09:54 PM
control panel power distribution paledragon Brew Stands 2 02-06-2010 09:14 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS