How can I convert this Chest Freezer into a Temp. Controlled Fermentation Chamber? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > How can I convert this Chest Freezer into a Temp. Controlled Fermentation Chamber?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 09:01 PM   #1
EyePeeA
Recipes 
 
Nov 2012
Posts: 354
Liked 27 Times on 25 Posts



Does it require some intricate work, or is it rather easy to do? I think the settings now only allow temps. below 42F.

GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

WAS $229
NOW $158

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ct_description

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:51 PM   #2
meadmazer
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Deweyville, Utah
Posts: 170
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts


Takes a little wiring with a temp controller, but thats it. The temp controller is wired so the freezer plugs into the controller, and the controller plugs in to the wall. Temp sensor for controller is put inside freezer, preferably the fermentor for better accuracy.
Controller in your freezer isnt used, unless you want temps colder than the freezer can do.

Popular STC1000 is about 20 bucks from various sources.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/temp...newbie-369532/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:59 PM   #3
Toecutter
 
Toecutter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Riverside, ca
Posts: 588
Liked 14 Times on 8 Posts


I have that freezer and it works great. Buy a Ranco digital temp controler. Put your carboy or whatever you use in it. Tape the controler probe to the side of your carboy. set the controler to the ferm temp for the type of yeast your using. Thats it. the freezer also works great as a frige to store your leftover thanksgiving donner
__________________
When a naked man is chasing a naked woman through an alley with a butcher knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - Dirty Harry

On Tap: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen, Toecutters Honey HPA

Fermenting: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:19 PM   #4
ingchr1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ingchr1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Orange County NY
Posts: 504
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by EyePeeA View Post
Does it require some intricate work, or is it rather easy to do?
Not too hard, just need to install a temperature controller of your choice. Here's a thread on that freezer, to give you ideas for temperature control:

GE 7 CF Keezer
__________________
Chris

MT_Keg Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:45 PM   #5
_TheTrevster_
Recipes 
 
Aug 2013
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 21
Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts


The "plug-and-play" options available from Johnson Controls and Ranco range from $50-$100 depending on the source. I second meadmazer's suggestion of the STC1000. I purchased a similar model directly from China except mine reads in Fahrenheit (Total price after shipping was $14.66). Both require a bit of wiring, but are worth the savings.

I replaced the existing temperature controller in the front of my unit with my new temperature controller like this:



(The numbers correspond to the numbers on terminals of the new controller)

Not intricate, very easy to do, which was your goal.

Good Luck!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:09 AM   #6
TNugent
Recipes 
 
Oct 2013
Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 177
Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by _TheTrevster_ View Post
The "plug-and-play" options available from Johnson Controls and Ranco range from $50-$100 depending on the source. I second meadmazer's suggestion of the STC1000. I purchased a similar model directly from China except mine reads in Fahrenheit (Total price after shipping was $14.66). Both require a bit of wiring, but are worth the savings.

I replaced the existing temperature controller in the front of my unit with my new temperature controller like this:



(The numbers correspond to the numbers on terminals of the new controller)

Not intricate, very easy to do, which was your goal.

Good Luck!
On the STC-1000 the terminals are numbered as such....

1/2 - Power Supply 110VAC
3/4 - Sensor
5/6 - Heating
7/8 - Cooling


I would love to put my STC-1000 in place of the stock controller. Are the numbers on your controller different, maybe your 3/4 is the STC-1000's 7/8? Did you use the factory temp probe or the one that came with your controller?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:19 PM   #7
_TheTrevster_
Recipes 
 
Aug 2013
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 21
Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by TNugent View Post
I would love to put my STC-1000 in place of the stock controller. Are the numbers on your controller different, maybe your 3/4 is the STC-1000's 7/8? Did you use the factory temp probe or the one that came with your controller?
The terminals are labeled differently on my unit. Using the numbers in my picture as a reference, 3&4 would connect to your power supply terminals, 1&2 would connect to your cooling terminals.

I did replace the freezers stock sensor with the new one that came with the controller. I chose to insert it into the existing probe housing.

Reason: Quoting for context

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Theories needed:temp controlled chest freezer causing head space to fill and overflow worldzfree Fermentation & Yeast 3 09-22-2012 03:45 PM
Chest Freezer/Fermentation Chamber HopSong Equipment/Sanitation 3 08-12-2012 07:20 PM
Chest freezer/Fermentation chamber temp control Thehopguy Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 06-17-2011 05:22 AM
Running Temp Probe Into Chest Freezer Fermentation Chamber speedwater Fermenters 6 04-30-2011 03:15 AM
Any modifications needed to convert chest freezer to fermentation vessel?? bgough Fermenters 11 03-31-2009 02:54 PM


Forum Jump