Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Tripel stopped carbonating

Old 11-21-2012, 02:37 AM   #1
BitterBomz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Tripel stopped carbonating

I recently bottled a batch of tripel. Used wlp500 for the batch. The recipe called for 1 1/4 cup wheat DME for a primer, so I boiled a solution. I bottled on October 30th, it is now November 20th. I just cracked open a bottle and there is hardly any of the foggy co2 gas normally released when opening a bottle, and there is almost no head. I can taste very small bubbles on my tongue, but am a little concerned with the carbonation progress.

Is it possible to repitch priming sugar and then re-bottle at this point? I've never messed with DME as a primer, and at this point I'm wo.wondering if I didn't use enough, or if I should just keep waiting. Any thoughts? Again, this is my first time using DME as a primer, so maybe I just need to be patient, but I'm not entirely sure. ABV is 9.0% BTW...

Old 11-21-2012, 02:44 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 6223 Times on 4435 Posts
Likes Given: 1677

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitterBomz View Post
I recently bottled a batch of tripel. Used wlp500 for the batch. The recipe called for 1 1/4 cup wheat DME for a primer, so I boiled a solution. I bottled on October 30th, it is now November 20th. I just cracked open a bottle and there is hardly any of the foggy co2 gas normally released when opening a bottle, and there is almost no head. I can taste very small bubbles on my tongue, but am a little concerned with the carbonation progress.

Is it possible to repitch priming sugar and then re-bottle at this point? I've never messed with DME as a primer, and at this point I'm wo.wondering if I didn't use enough, or if I should just keep waiting. Any thoughts? Again, this is my first time using DME as a primer, so maybe I just need to be patient, but I'm not entirely sure. ABV is 9.0% BTW...