Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > NEMA 16-30 vs 14-30 inlet
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
rangrr4834
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Farmington, Minnesota
Posts: 41
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default NEMA 16-30 vs 14-30 inlet

Hi all. Would a NEMA 16-30 inlet work for my Kal clone control panel in place of the 14-30 inlet receptacle?


rangrr4834 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangrr4834 View Post
Hi all. Would a NEMA 16-30 inlet work for my Kal clone control panel in place of the 14-30 inlet receptacle?
Links would have helped a lot instead of forcing everyone to research just to answer your question.You already looked at both. Please give everyone a clue.

No?

P-J


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:10 PM   #3
rangrr4834
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Farmington, Minnesota
Posts: 41
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Sorry, I tought they were universal.

Here is the 14-30 that Kal recommended on his site:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Male-Locking...item416e7b613d

and here is the 16-30:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HUBBELL-2735...item1e73cc3c3c

Thanks for any help you can provide before I make a wrong purchase. As I see it, it appears the plugs are the same and just the amount of voltage are rated differently.
rangrr4834 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
ajdelange
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 7,901
Liked 1077 Times on 844 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default

4 wires, 30 amps. Why not? The 16's are actually intended for 3 systems and will tolerate higher voltages. If you were in a facility where there was a danger of plugging a 3 machine in to it I'd say no but in this applications it's probably OK. Might violate code though.
ajdelange is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:24 PM   #5
rangrr4834
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Farmington, Minnesota
Posts: 41
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Thanks, although after looking closer one is twist lock and a standard 14-30 is not. However, I may still get the 16-30 inlet and just find a 16-30 plug for the end of my dryer cord to go into the inlet. I don't think any code applies since it is being installed into the bottom of the enclosure of the control panel. Any other thoughts?
rangrr4834 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:04 AM   #6
ajdelange
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 7,901
Liked 1077 Times on 844 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default

I'm an engineer and not a lawyer so I have trouble reading the code but I think 110.3(B) might be the gotcha. It says that listed equipment must be installed and used per instructions or listing. Presumably the NEMA specs/listing or whatever it is say that the 16 series are for 3 and the 14 for 120/240. If you use them interchangeably is that a violation? If you are in a facility that uses both 3 and biphase equipment you can see how doing so could lead to problems and that is why there are two types of plugs which have the same capabilities in terms of the number of poles and their current carrying capacities but which will not mate with one another.

Is there any technical reason you can't use either one? Will you ever accidentally plug in a 3 solids pump? No on both counts. Is there a 'legal' reason you shouldn't use a 16? Perhaps.

But given that anyone who sells the 16-30 doubtless sells the 14-30 why not just get the 'right' one?
ajdelange is offline
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:12 AM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajdelange View Post
I'm an engineer and not a lawyer so I have trouble reading the code but I think 110.3(B) might be the gotcha. It says that listed equipment must be installed and used per instructions or listing. Presumably the NEMA specs/listing or whatever it is say that the 16 series are for 3 and the 14 for 120/240. If you use them interchangeably is that a violation? If you are in a facility that uses both 3 and biphase equipment you can see how doing so could lead to problems and that is why there are two types of plugs which have the same capabilities in terms of the number of poles and their current carrying capacities but which will not mate with one another.

Is there any technical reason you can't use either one? Will you ever accidentally plug in a 3 solids pump? No on both counts. Is there a 'legal' reason you shouldn't use a 16? Perhaps.

But given that anyone who sells the 16-30 doubtless sells the 14-30 why not just get the 'right' one?
Excellent!

****
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:59 AM   #8
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I used that same male plug on my welder, I got it for free out of a junk pile at work. I filed off a little bit on one of the prongs and it fits just fine into a 120/240 4 wire twistlock (my welder doesn't use a neutral, I just use a 4 prong cord cap so I don't have to run another receptacle.)
grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:09 AM   #9
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,685
Liked 135 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajdelange View Post
If you use them interchangeably is that a violation? If you are in a facility that uses both 3 and biphase equipment you can see how doing so could lead to problems and that is why there are two types of plugs which have the same capabilities in terms of the number of poles and their current carrying capacities but which will not mate with one another.

....

But given that anyone who sells the 16-30 doubtless sells the 14-30 why not just get the 'right' one?
I agree. That is precisely the reason there are so many different configurations of plugs/receptacles. To have enough to make the necessary connections covering the multitude of power systems, yet mitigate improper interconnections.
__________________
Drinking: Craptastic Cream Ale
Primary: Scottish Wee Heavy
whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:42 AM   #10
meadmazer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Deweyville, Utah
Posts: 170
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default

I would think that there would be some differences in the plugs that dont allow them to interchange. The prong with the bend goes the other way, or is on the other side, etc. I am doing the same thing, looking at plugs for a pid on the way. Going to go with the L14-30 to keep in the correct voltage rating.


meadmazer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you really need a NEMA enclosure? Strongbad52 Electric Brewing 7 11-12-2012 03:36 PM
NEMA locking plug question lorglath Electric Brewing 4 09-18-2012 01:48 PM
Electrical Dilemma NEMA 10-30P, NEMA 10-50R and 40A circuit breaker BroFratBrew Electric Brewing 1 12-14-2011 08:19 PM
NEMA Plugs wegz15 Electric Brewing 10 03-22-2011 06:02 AM
50-60 Amp NEMA receptacle source? terrazza Electric Brewing 4 03-06-2011 07:37 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS