Quad breaker? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Quad breaker?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
Garyr2973
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Louisville,KY
Posts: 184
Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts



I am familiar with tandem circuit breakers but my electric panel is full and since I'm only going to be in this house another year or so, I was wondering if I could switch out 2 of my 20amp breakers with the one below and then run my electric brewery (Kal clone with one element running at a time.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1701386162.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	84173

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:49 AM   #2
whoaru99
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Posts: 1,760
Liked 140 Times on 117 Posts


Yeah....but if you're running on 240 then you have to be sure to run on both legs and the breaker handles need to be tied. Hard to know for sure from the picture but the center two poles seem to fulfill both requirements.
__________________
Drinking: Store Bought
Kegged: Cream Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
whoaru99
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Posts: 1,760
Liked 140 Times on 117 Posts


Another possible consideration might be panel fill/loading. I don't know if there is any code that would prohibit it based on panel fill/potential loading. IOW, if you have a 20 circuit panel and put this in and now you have 22 circuits, is that any sort of code violation?
__________________
Drinking: Store Bought
Kegged: Cream Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:21 PM   #4
brewguyver
Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
brewguyver's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,429
Liked 167 Times on 121 Posts


Have you thought about doing a sub panel? I know you're moving, but you could always pull it when you put the house on the market.
__________________
Brewguyver - the man who does everything wrong so you won't have to!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:07 AM   #5
Garyr2973
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Louisville,KY
Posts: 184
Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts


I thought about it but my house was built in the 60's and the panel is out back so that would mean a waterproof circuit box and then the wire. Just seems like it would be easier to throw the quad in and be done with it until moving day.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:57 AM   #6
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


that breaker will work if you have split tabs on your buss bar. If your panel has the notched buss it is ussually only present on the bottom 4 or 5 spaces. There are ways to rig the breaker to fit into any spot on the buss, but it is not recommended to do so.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:16 PM   #7
porcupine73
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Fort Meade
Posts: 813
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts


Right, you're supposed to use only breaker types listed by the panel. So if the panel doesn't say you it supports the double density breakers you should not use that style breaker. Those are usually more for the small 12 circuit panels where they have only 6 actual breaker spaces.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:55 PM   #8
Garyr2973
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Louisville,KY
Posts: 184
Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts


Actually that's exactly what I have, the small panel. It's a main lug panel not a main breaker and it's a 12 slot. Right side is all 220 x 3 circuits, left side is all 110 20amp.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP GFI Breaker louie0202 Electric Brewing 6 09-27-2012 01:54 PM
GFI breaker pricing... this can't be right flanneltrees804 Electric Brewing 50 03-24-2012 03:06 AM
gfci breaker mux Electric Brewing 13 01-08-2012 08:27 PM
main breaker box - relationship of main breaker to others badmajon Brew Stands 4 03-20-2011 10:53 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM


Forum Jump