Wiring Neutral Kal Clone - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Wiring Neutral Kal Clone

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 05:06 AM   #1
cgingras1
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Somers, CT
Posts: 42
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



I am almost finished the never ending 50 AMP electric brewery project. In finishing the wiring I was a little confused as to how to wire the neutral.

Do I take the white wire from the 50 AMP receptacle and bring that to the neutral bus bar or do I bring it to my two thirty amp receptacles then to where after that.

This forum is awesome. I had posted a previous question about wiring my 50 AMP outlet and the answer made it clear that my 8 gauge wire needed to be replaced. It cost 100 dollars to replace it but the absolute right guidance.

Thanks again for the assistance. Once done I will post pictures of the latest clone.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:14 PM   #2
BadNewsBrewery
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,248
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


Not sure I understand the question. The neutral wire is only needed for those portions of your panel that are running 120v. So, if you're running 120v coils on your contactors, or you have receptacles for pumps to plug into, or your PIDs need 120v - thing like that need the neutral. So yes, terminate your supply to a neutral terminal block or buss bar, and run your neutral runs from there to whatever you need to get 120v to.
-Kevin



 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:38 PM   #3
milesvdustin
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 630
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts


I had my neutral (actually all of the lines) come in from the main receptacle then immediately to bus bars. From the bar the powers, ground and neutral all branch off to where they are needed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsethall View Post
It's like a big hot douche for my brewery.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:06 PM   #4
cgingras1
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Somers, CT
Posts: 42
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Thanks for the insight, we correctly wired the neutral but somehow damaged the 50 AMP contactor. The coil connection on the contactor appears to be very fragile and the thin wire connecting the terminal to the coil separated. I might be buying another contactor unless I can solder it back together. Duh

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:49 PM   #5
BadNewsBrewery
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,248
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


Do you have a pic? My contactors don't have any exposed wiring that is part of the contactor... I'd be curious to see yours.
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:20 PM   #6
cgingras1
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Somers, CT
Posts: 42
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


In the photo you will notice the connection in the middle (white part) that my switch wires would be connected too, somehow that was twisted when we placed it in the control panel. When that happened it severed the connection between those two prongs and the copper coil.

Is there a better version of a contactor available?

This is not my exact contactor, but it looks exactly like it.
Click image for larger version

Name:	hcc2xt04gg.jpg
Views:	353
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	84113  

Reason: Added Photo

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:39 PM   #7
zeus53219
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Milwaukee
Posts: 298
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


http://www.ebay.com/itm/Allen-Bradle...item43b21f9058

I have 2 of these left, I will let them go for $35ea plus shipping. Far superior contactor, no exposed wiring.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:30 PM   #8
ajdelange
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 8,904
Liked 1362 Times on 1037 Posts


Since it's fix it or toss it I'd try taking it apart and seeing if you can tease a turn off the coil bobbin for resoldering to the terminal. With my luck the wire that broke would be the one from the inside of the bobbin and this wouldn't be doable but you might be luckier.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:35 PM   #9
cgingras1
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Somers, CT
Posts: 42
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


That's exactly what we did. We tried resoldering it with no success (that is thin wire) and then replaced the coil from a 40 AMP contractor which worked perfectly. I assumed that was ok because both contractors were 120 v.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:54 PM   #10
ajdelange
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 8,904
Liked 1362 Times on 1037 Posts


Gee, didn't know those guys are so specialized!

Sorry, sometimes I can't help myself.

Seriously, glad to hear it worked out. Assuming the steel on the two (source unit and the unit you put it on) are about the same, and they ought to be as it fit, the current draws should be about the same or more to the point the resistance to reactance ratio should be about the same but you might want to check the coil temperature over time just to be sure its not getting too hot.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keezer Collar Temp Controller Wiring & Fan Wiring Questions. Revvy Kegerators & Keezers 12 09-23-2012 01:21 PM
What is the most neutral ale yeast ? wired247 Fermentation & Yeast 27 01-28-2011 10:48 PM
In need of neutral opinions. cmmcdonn General Beer Discussion 10 12-08-2010 01:20 PM
I believe Nottingham is more neutral that S-05? HalfPint Fermentation & Yeast 19 09-14-2010 02:37 AM
What to do with neutral in 240 volt? JVD_X Equipment/Sanitation 23 11-26-2009 04:07 AM


Forum Jump