Correct Spa Disconnect - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Correct Spa Disconnect

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 02:49 PM   #1
garbageman
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Lexington, SC
Posts: 148
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts



Looking to add this to my garage to supply the power to my electric brewing setup. I will have it mounted beside the house circuit box and then hard wire to my control panel. Or would I be better off just adding the 50amp GFI breaker to my house circuit box and wire from there?

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...a#.UKJcbW_R7HQ



 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
milesvdustin
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 630
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts


How many amps are you expecting to draw from your panel? I am going to use less than 30, so I rewired the air compressor outlet in my garage to 4 wire and bought one of the kal style gfi cords from friesen electronics. Way cheaper than a gfi breaker setup. Cost me maybe 50 bucks all together.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsethall View Post
It's like a big hot douche for my brewery.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
garbageman
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Lexington, SC
Posts: 148
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


I was planning to bring over the 50 amp service to the control box and use it to power :

1) 110v 2000w for the RIMS
1) 220v 5500w for the BK
2) 110v outlets for PUMPS
1) BCS controller

I don't every see myself running both elements at a time, but I want the option to start another batch while the first is boiling in the BK.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:47 PM   #4
milesvdustin
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 630
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts


If you want to start another batch while one is boiling you will more than likely need 50 amp service. Your 5500 watt bk element will draw approximately 23 amps by itself. The 200 watt element will draw another 18 or so.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsethall View Post
It's like a big hot douche for my brewery.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:28 PM   #5
garbageman
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Lexington, SC
Posts: 148
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


The more I think about it, I can just put the breaker in the house box and not need another box. My control box will have an emergency switch to kill power.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:24 AM   #6
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Fenton, MO
Posts: 963
Liked 37 Times on 36 Posts


You really need a GFCI breaker. Is that in your house box? If it isn't, then you should reconsider your decision.

Also, if you change your RIMS element from 110v 2000w to 220v 2000w, you reduce your load. i.e. from 16.67A at 120v to 8.33A at 240v.

And if you really wanted to run everything on the 50a circuit, change out your two 5500w elements for 4500w elements (these use 18.75A compared to the 23A for the 5500w elements) and you'll use something like 47A.
__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build

Reason: Corrected the amps needed to run a 4500w element at 240v.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:20 AM   #7
garbageman
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Lexington, SC
Posts: 148
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Can you not add a GFI to the house breaker bar and run from that to your control box?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:35 AM   #8
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Also, if you change your RIMS element from 110v 2000w to 220v 2000w, you reduce your load. i.e. from 16.67A at 120v to 8.33A at 240v.

And if you really wanted to run everything on the 50a circuit, change out your two 5500w elements for 4500w elements (these use 14.75A compared to the 23A for the 5500w elements) and you'll use something like 47A.
__________________
4500 watt elements draw 18.75 amps.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:19 PM   #9
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Fenton, MO
Posts: 963
Liked 37 Times on 36 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by grandequeso View Post
4500 watt elements draw 18.75 amps.
Correct you are! I have corrected the post.
__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:26 PM   #10
pickles
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Columbus
Posts: 2,007
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by garbageman View Post
Can you not add a GFI to the house breaker bar and run from that to your control box?
Yes you can. I think stlbeer mistakenly thought the link was for a disconnect only. Either way make sure you have GFCI protection!


__________________
Gaptooth Brewhouse

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disconnect if not going to be using for a while? pretzelb Bottling/Kegging 11 09-30-2010 01:46 AM
Which keg disconnect where? snipper_cr Bottling/Kegging 3 01-16-2010 05:32 PM
HELP I Can't get disconnect off bulleitb Bottling/Kegging 8 12-04-2009 04:29 AM
Bad disconnect? jace Bottling/Kegging 16 11-13-2008 02:38 AM


Forum Jump