Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > switcing from 4 conductor supply to 3 conductor supply
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 02:36 PM   #11
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,641
Liked 129 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Right, but for that same precaution is why those circuits are now 4-wire.
__________________
Drinking: Nuttin'... ran out of home brew..
Primary: Scottish Wee Heavy
Primary: Craptastic Cream Ale
whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:52 PM   #12
BrewinBigD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratham, NH
Posts: 276
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
/\ - This is absolutely correct with one exception. The brewery can be GFCI protected. This can be acomplished by using a homedepot.com - Spa Panel and setting it up as a plug in device using the 3 wire dryer outlet.

The dryer outlet is already protected with a 30A breaker. The Spa Panel provides the GFCI protection. This is how it can be done:




Hope this helps.

P-J
PJ,
I never thought of this my current setup isn't GFI protected, but for
he new setup I think its a wise idea. And it will also give me an opportunity to wire a normally open EStop. I plan on doing this by going from 1 power line through a pair of 1Mohm resistors ( I have to look @ your easy 1 PID controller schematic to verify that value) and then to the switch which will close to ground when activated. Genius!!!
BrewinBigD is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:07 PM   #13
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 488

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewinBigD View Post
PJ,
I never thought of this my current setup isn't GFI protected, but for
the new setup I think its a wise idea. And it will also give me an opportunity to wire a normally open EStop. I plan on doing this by going from 1 power line through a pair of 1Mohm resistors ( I have to look @ your easy 1 PID controller schematic to verify that value) and then to the switch which will close to ground when activated. Genius!!!
Thanks. If I can help you with any different ideas, diagram changes or parts source info, please let me know.

Oh: The resistors are 1K ohm resistors - 2 wired in series. This gives 0.06A leakage current to ground. That is all it takes to trip the GFCI.

Wishing you the best.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:05 PM   #14
BrewinBigD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratham, NH
Posts: 276
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

So I'm going to wire this right next to my controller eliminating my internal power on/off switch, and just using the "test" button as an Estop. It works. the same as wiring in a remote switch so ill save time and money!
BrewinBigD is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:12 PM   #15
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

What prevents someone from flipping the GFI breaker back on while you are working on something? You still need a mechanical disconnect switch on the panel to be safe.
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:36 PM   #16
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,641
Liked 129 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
What prevents someone from flipping the GFI breaker back on while you are working on something? You still need a mechanical disconnect switch on the panel to be safe.
Another possibility...

Latching circuit for master arming/ON with a form of E-stop included. Prevents inadvertent energization on power loss and the type of situation thargrav mentions.

I think would be better if it was done with low voltage control but it still serves the purpose.
Click image for larger version

Name:	latching_estop.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	83779  
__________________
Drinking: Nuttin'... ran out of home brew..
Primary: Scottish Wee Heavy
Primary: Craptastic Cream Ale
whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:55 PM   #17
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I understand your logic but every industry has "lock-out, tag-out" procedures in place because electrical safety devices that do not have a mechanical disconnect have proven unsafe & killed people.

Install a mechanical disconnect like a incoming breaker or power switch so that you know the power is disconnected when you are working on your equipment!
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:36 PM   #18
BrewinBigD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratham, NH
Posts: 276
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
What prevents someone from flipping the GFI breaker back on while you are working on something? You still need a mechanical disconnect switch on the panel to be safe.
What prevents this is having the GFI breaker wires as part of the brewery control panel, and since im the only one who brews im not too worried about it.
BrewinBigD is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:37 PM   #19
BrewinBigD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratham, NH
Posts: 276
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
I understand your logic but every industry has "lock-out, tag-out" procedures in place because electrical safety devices that do not have a mechanical disconnect have proven unsafe & killed people.

Install a mechanical disconnect like a incoming breaker or power switch so that you know the power is disconnected when you are working on your equipment!
and my set up is not hard wired to the home. it will plug into the dryer outlet while brewing, and will be disconnected all other times.
BrewinBigD is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:55 PM   #20
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewinBigD View Post
What prevents this is having the GFI breaker wires as part of the brewery control panel, and since im the only one who brews im not too worried about it.
Absolutely nothing & I even suggested using the Home Depot GFI SPA Wiring Panel as a home brewery control panel in an earlier post. From the picture, there seems to be plenty of space inside the panel.
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Whole Hop Supply kappajoe For Sale 17 04-09-2012 05:16 PM
Multi-conductor cables... HELP! Boerderij_Kabouter Brew Stands 31 10-29-2010 01:48 AM
Best Keg supply? ZWood15 Bottling/Kegging 27 04-24-2010 03:00 PM
Multi-conductor cables Budzu Brew Stands 15 12-02-2009 03:56 PM
CO2 refill. Welding supply vs. Fire supply. Bender Bottling/Kegging 3 11-10-2008 03:26 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS