Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > BeerSmith pitfalls?

Old 10-31-2012, 12:38 AM   #1
sawbossFogg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default BeerSmith pitfalls?

I'll peruse the threads, but specifically as a fairly novice builder in BeerSmith I'm looking to avoid any pitfalls that may not be obvious. I've had success building and implementing 2 recipes in BeerSmith, but it still seem a little to good to be true :-) Any thoughts or experiences? Thanks.

Old 10-31-2012, 02:36 AM   #2
sroberts
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 23

When I was a rookie I used BeerSmith it to design a recipe, thinking that if I adjusted my grain bill and hop schedule to hit the same numbers as beers I loved, I'd have a good recipe. That was not true. I brewed a mediocre beer that appeared in BrewSmith to have the same scale values as great beers I've had. So I learned that it is a good calculator, and once I was proficient with my equipment and could predict water calculations, etc, I found I no longer needed it anyway.

Old 10-31-2012, 02:42 AM   #3
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 942 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Do some research on setting up the equipment profile right.
People Like This 
Old 10-31-2012, 03:20 AM   #4
sawbossFogg
Recipes 

I think the equipment and method profiling is the part I am most concerned with as the equipment options are limited. I've been brewing for about 20 years, calculated grains bills using simple methods as well as BeerSmith, but I feel like an experience like Roberts is looming because there are so many variables. Of course it is best to test ones Smith recipe against best judgement based on experience, and so far I've had success using BeerSmith and with the incredible accuracy and detail of data logging which really trumps my old log books, I don't think I'll outgrow it soon.