Using the Ranco for Fermentation Control? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Using the Ranco for Fermentation Control?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2012, 11:45 AM   #1
blackcows
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts



After brewing for many years I have finally gathered up enough equipment to control my fermentation temps. I have purchased a Ranco 111000 and have it wired up and working with my 7 cu ft chest freezer. I have done a bit of research here using the search button but still have a few questions about my set up. Any help would be appreciated.

1. I understand the settings, they seem very stratight forward, but wondering what temp people set the differintial. I was thinking 1 but was wondering if this would cause the freezer to constantly cycle.

2. There is a heat and cool setting, is the difference between the two settings that one doesn't allow the temperature to go below and one doesn't allow it to go above? Is it that simple?

3. Is it ok to close the probe cable in the door?

4. I have read about many solutions for heat and think I am going to go the simple route and just use a bulb. Any reason I shouldn't do this? Any opinions on specific wattage or bulb types?

Thanks in advance

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:01 PM   #2
Devin
 
Devin's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 419
Liked 90 Times on 50 Posts


1. I use a diff. of 2 degrees - seems to work well with my setup. Best advice is for you to test it and see how quickly your chamber changes temperature.

2. Yes, it is that simple.

3. I wouldn't, simply because that is going to let air in/out. Build a collar for your freezer, then drill holes in the collar to allow you to have entry/exits points. Then, you can feed wire in and out and fill the holes with some type of insulation.

4. A bulb is fine if you can block the light from your beer. Some use a paint can or tin foil around the bulb. Me? I opted for reptile heat cable. 23 feet of cable that delivers 50W. Works great.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:44 PM   #3
blackcows
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


Thanks for the reply, been reading that some use a hairdryer for heat....might give that a try.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
Easily_Distracted
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Columbus, OH
Posts: 89


I have an AquaLogic TD115DN 2 stage controller on my swamp cooler. I use a differential of 1. These instructions might help. I was having trouble until I read that stage 2 must be in C2 mode to work properly.

http://www.aqualogicinc.com/products...ler-Manual.pdf

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:44 AM   #5
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,386
Liked 3235 Times on 2415 Posts


The ETC 111000 is a single stage controller, so you'll have to deal with different hookups when you need to control the fridge versus controlling a heat source within.

A toggle switch with appropriate wiring would let you switch the loads, but you'd still have to switch the controller from cooling to heating mode and vice versa every time you toggle the switch.

Kind of a pita, imo. I'd have gone with a dual-stage myself...

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:54 PM   #6
Devin
 
Devin's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 419
Liked 90 Times on 50 Posts


I have a dual stage as well. However, I could have gotten away with a single stage with my setup. During the winter months, only the heating is really needed. During summer, only cooling. There are a couple of months in Spring and Fall that it gets iffy, but I could have still gotten away with a single stage.

That said, I sprung for the dual stage because I am lazy and don't want to have to fuss with changing settings and plugs as often.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
broadbill
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Southern Maine
Posts: 3,935
Liked 534 Times on 361 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcows View Post

3. Is it ok to close the probe cable in the door?
This is what I do with no problems....door seal conforms right around to it. The loss of seal is miniscule.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:23 AM   #8
Ttownbrewer
 
Ttownbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Thornton, CO
Posts: 145
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


I use a Fermwrap taped to the side for heat, no light for me. A problem to keep an eye on is with the actual temp of your fermenting beer vs the ambient temp. As you probably know, there can be a pretty big swing in temps. I've hade some fusel outcomes with fermenting to warm. I picked up a thermowell cap to control the actual temp inside the Carboy. I'm very pleased with the set up though, and you will be too.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:08 PM   #9
broadbill
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Southern Maine
Posts: 3,935
Liked 534 Times on 361 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttownbrewer View Post
I use a Fermwrap taped to the side for heat, no light for me. A problem to keep an eye on is with the actual temp of your fermenting beer vs the ambient temp. As you probably know, there can be a pretty big swing in temps. I've hade some fusel outcomes with fermenting to warm. I picked up a thermowell cap to control the actual temp inside the Carboy. I'm very pleased with the set up though, and you will be too.
Taping the Ranco probe to the side of fermenter with a piece of insulating foam/bubblewrap/styrofoam over it eliminates the difference between ambient and fermenter temp.

With this setup, the Ranco directly controls the temp of the fermenter.

A suggestion for those not interested in buying/dealing with a thermowell.

GMesick Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:46 PM   #10
Ttownbrewer
 
Ttownbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Thornton, CO
Posts: 145
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by broadbill

Taping the Ranco probe to the side of fermenter with a piece of insulating foam/bubblewrap/styrofoam over it eliminates the difference between ambient and fermenter temp.

With this setup, the Ranco directly controls the temp of the fermenter.

A suggestion for those not interested in buying/dealing with a thermowell.
I have done this, and I do agree with you.

GMesick Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fermentation Temperature Control. Ranco, Johnson Controls Unit OnTheStrangeBrew Fermentation & Yeast 5 03-08-2013 08:36 PM
WTB: Ranco Prewired Temp Control EK711 For Sale 4 04-18-2012 07:41 PM
Ranco control steven85 Equipment/Sanitation 18 08-25-2011 05:56 PM
Using a Ranco to Control An Old Refrigerator? ForRealBeer Fermenters 4 12-21-2009 02:24 PM
Ranco Temp control Bruiz54 Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-03-2008 11:31 PM


Forum Jump