Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > HERMS Build Planning: DIN Rails or not?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 01:00 PM   #21
Brew52
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 130
Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Not sure what you have planned for a control panel, but the specs you listed sound very much like mine. I am attaching the wiring diagram that P-J did for me. I plan to use DIN mount breakers and also use DIN mount terminal blocks instead of the terminal strips shown in the diagram.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rarian View Post
I've been seriously planning a HERMS setup (240v, 50a, 2 element, 2 pump) for the past three months or so, and have in the last month entered into a partnership with two local brewers/friends to collaborate on a 15 gallon setup.

In reading a lot of the threads here, I've come across several mentions of people wishing they had started off with a DIN rail setup and that they hope to transition to the same in a further iteration of their build. I come from an engineering background (Mining/Process,) and am fairly comfortable with the overall architecture, design and implementation of a traditional backplane install, but am completely unfamiliar with DIN rails.

Does anyone have a good source for a primer for understanding/transitioning to DIN rails? From what I've read, it would be a great option for us in terms of experimentation/adaption, but am having trouble finding source material to bring me up to speed on the cons and benefits of sourcing components for a DIN setup. Anyone have suggestions?

Thanks!


Click image for larger version

Name:	Auberin-wiring1-a11-RIMS-SYL-2352-5500w.jpg
Views:	728
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	82187  
__________________
NAUTICAL NONSENSE BREWING CO.
Brew52 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:25 AM   #22
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,342
Liked 938 Times on 629 Posts
Likes Given: 757

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
With a 240V 50A power feed, it is very important to have breakers within your control panel to limit the current within the associated circuits. In this situation, fuses are not a good idea. With a 240V system, each phase of the 240 should be 'broken' at the same time. A fuse would only open one of the phases.
Hope this helps.
I better get to work replacing every one of those 2pole fused safety switches I've ever installed then.....


lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:46 AM   #23
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
I better get to work replacing every one of those 2pole fused safety switches I've ever installed then.....
??
It's your life that you are betting. Or - If the build was for someone else? Their life when "Stuff Happens".

I appreciate your sarcasm...
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:27 AM   #24
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,342
Liked 938 Times on 629 Posts
Likes Given: 757

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
??
It's your life that you are betting. Or - If the build was for someone else? Their life when "Stuff Happens".

I appreciate your sarcasm...
Man, if someone is rootin' around in a panel with a tripped breaker or blown fuse they're betting their own life if they don't know what they're doing. There is no added safety with a breaker. If there are faults on both legs, both fuses will be blown.

Whatever, do it your way...I'm done...
lschiavo is offline
jgadbois Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:49 PM   #25
psbuckland
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 189
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Here's some of myBrewtroller components mounted on 1/4" acrylic and universal din rail mounts. Hope this helps in ur build.


Shane
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-392327565.jpg
Views:	347
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	84529   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2269166213.jpg
Views:	350
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	84530  
psbuckland is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:59 PM   #26
sicabeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 53
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I love DIN rails. I have everything except my contactors mounted on them. I have my BCS kind of ghetto wire tied to some of the clips instead of mounting them.
ebrewsupply is really a great place to go look.


sicabeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning the Brichaus E-brewery build Brickout Electric Brewing 48 04-03-2015 04:40 PM
Control Panel PLANNING and BUILD smoothlarryhughes Electric Brewing 24 10-14-2012 04:33 PM
Planning Herms Brutus - Critiques Welcome Cacaman Brew Stands 10 07-16-2012 10:08 PM
Need some help in planning my HERMS system goingmad Brew Stands 2 12-29-2011 11:42 PM
Planning, scheming, questioning my own sanity. (HERMS) Orangevango Brew Stands 28 05-14-2009 07:10 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS