Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > So, ss conduit or...?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2012, 03:04 PM   #1
ftlstrings
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 298
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default So, ss conduit or...?

So, should I place my wiring for an in place e-brewery in my garage in the wall before putting up ss sheet on the wall or should I get some ss conduit to use between the control panel and the plug in enclosure, just in case I move again? No real plans to move for a while though.


__________________
"I asked God for a bike, but I know God doesn't work that way. So I stole a bike and asked for forgiveness."
ftlstrings is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:18 PM   #2
Rbeckett
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bronson, Fl
Posts: 990
Liked 70 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I'm a fan of external and readilly accessable wiring. If you ever want to make a change going into a wall will be a huge PITA. But if you place it in conduit you can move, remove, or reroute to your hearts current desire. So I'm in for the tastefull conduit, clips and boxes mounted in plain sight.
Wheelchair Bob


__________________
What do you mean "no Kidneys"???, WTF now I gotta drink less beer...
Join the Automation sub forum in Electric brewing for a discussion of components and control systems. I did!!!!
Rbeckett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:20 PM   #3
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ftlstrings
So, should I place my wiring for an in place e-brewery in my garage in the wall before putting up ss sheet on the wall or should I get some ss conduit to use between the control panel and the plug in enclosure, just in case I move again? No real plans to move for a while though.
Run the pipe in the wall then cover it with your sheeting.
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:21 AM   #4
runbad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 44
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I like the thought of wiring in the wall to clean up the look. If you over size the conduit in the wall it would ease future rewiring or removal.
runbad is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:26 PM   #5
mariojr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 312
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 169

Default

I'd opt for external since it is in your garage and I think conduit looks cool
__________________
-----

Mario


A Flower?
mariojr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:28 PM   #6
ftlstrings
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 298
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

All good thoughts. I'm leaning more toward in-wall electric, for the cleaner look and so I won't be tempted to hang stuff on my conduit. Plus getting ss conduit in kirksville mo isn't easy as going to home despot.
__________________
"I asked God for a bike, but I know God doesn't work that way. So I stole a bike and asked for forgiveness."
ftlstrings is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:09 PM   #7
brycelarson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 527
Liked 54 Times on 48 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Outside the wall all the way. Come on, you're thinking that you'll never adjust equipment? That's just crazy talk!
brycelarson is offline
mariojr Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:12 PM   #8
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Pipe it in the wall. Spot a few extra boxes and blank them off for future. Run 3/4 if you need extra room.
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:39 PM   #9
Sherpa FE
The < 1% Club
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sherpa FE's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 820
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Ha ha, looks like a 50/50 split!

I ran conduit throughout my entire shop, I wish I had made it internal, to clean it up.
__________________
No matter how much money you THINK you are saving by brewing beer, you are still just pissing money away
Sherpa FE is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 03:23 PM   #10
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

I don't know why you would run stainless pipe. It would be a bitch to bend and cut.


mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asco valve conduit connector? gruversm Other 7 04-08-2009 12:59 AM
electrical questions (conduit needed?) for Brutus pieper Brew Stands 1 05-06-2008 01:51 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS