Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Home Brewing Photo Forum > first batch in my fermentation cabinet
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 11:16 PM   #1
zurcj20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 142
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default first batch in my fermentation cabinet

Here is a pic of my first batch in my ferm cabinet. NB Amber. Holding steady at 62*.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121022_191544.png
Views:	966
Size:	267.6 KB
ID:	80541


__________________
"To alchohol, The cause of, and solution to all of lifes problems!" -Homer Simpson
zurcj20 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:20 AM   #2
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks for sharing. I'm currently building a cabinet. Why did you lag the spigot? Is it necessary to periodically open the door to vent the CO2 from the airlock?


stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:49 PM   #3
zurcj20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 142
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I don't have a spigot on the bucket. I don't think you have to open the door to vent but I like to look in on it anyway.
__________________
"To alchohol, The cause of, and solution to all of lifes problems!" -Homer Simpson
zurcj20 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:45 PM   #4
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Oh... sorry. Looks like that rag is insulating something.

What's the cubic feet size or external dimensions of your fridge/freezer? I posted pics of my controller elsewhere; haven't got the freezer yet.
stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:40 PM   #5
zurcj20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 142
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Yeah, it's insulating the temp probe. It is a 3.7 cf fridge. I put a shelf on the compressor hump, bent down the freezer shelf and it's just big enough for a bucket.
__________________
"To alchohol, The cause of, and solution to all of lifes problems!" -Homer Simpson
zurcj20 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:43 AM   #6
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

If I ever to heat my cabinet up - it'll be a freezer with a two stage controler on it - what's the best way? A heat lamp? What kind of power? I suppose I could wrap the fermentor/carboy to protect it from the light...

Or would some kind of ceramic heater or aquarium heater be more suitable?
stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:48 AM   #7
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

So I have my two stage controller built but struggling to find my cabinet. For simplicity I feel it should be either a fridge OR a freezer and not a combo otherwise the freezer is going to be in "competition" with the 65F fridge.
Anybody know how I can overcome this if that's all I can find? Can I just disconnect the freezer section? Are there two compressors - one for the freezer and one the fridge or just one for both?
stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:35 PM   #8
TBaGZ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Estero, FL
Posts: 561
Liked 31 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 93

Default

Usually the freezer is the only cooling unit in the mini fridge. So the fridge gets cold only because it has the freezer in it.
__________________
I want to make beer!
TBaGZ is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:05 PM   #9
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

If I got a fridge with a freezer above the probe in the fridge would shut the power off at the set point. Thus the freezer would also be shut off. Exactly at what temp is unknown. Its unlikely to be useable as a full on freezer, it might get cool enough to keep Wyeast or bottled beers or it may just be a empty space not really useful for anythjng.
But if I get the appliance cheap or free that wouldn't matter. As long as the controllable section is big enough for the fermenter.
So I think a comb wouldn't be problematic. Though I still have to find one.
stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:56 PM   #10
stevescott123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 64
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBaGZ View Post
Usually the freezer is the only cooling unit in the mini fridge. So the fridge gets cold only because it has the freezer in it.
I wasn't thinking of a mini fridge lillke a hotel fridge; it wouldn't be big enough. I was thinking of a fridge with a separate freezer, with two doors. But still, if it has two doors I guess the compartment with the probe is going to be held steady by the controller and the other will be at whatever temperature it gets to before the controller kicks on (or off) which may or may not be a useful temperature.


stevescott123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fermentation Cabinet... crusader1612 Fermenters 0 08-20-2012 11:10 PM
For Sale - Fermentation Cabinet RonRock For Sale 4 10-31-2010 04:18 PM
Yet another fermentation cabinet Funkenjaeger Fermenters 23 09-26-2010 12:39 PM
My Fermentation Cabinet benbradford Fermenters 7 05-28-2010 08:54 PM
Fermentation Cabinet Choguy03 Fermenters 32 09-29-2008 04:22 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS