Keg Connection New Inline Flow Control Valve Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Motorizing a Malt Mill
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 02:52 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 45
Default Motorizing a Malt Mill

I’m having a lot of trouble motorizing my bare-bones Malt Mill.

Please see the attached picture for my application. I have a 1.5” hole centered over the rollers with a 5 gallon plastic water jug attached.
I have tried with a 8” pulley (in the picture) which runs from 240 (3L belt) – 297 (4L belt) rpm AND I have tried a 12” pulley which runs from 157 (3L belt) – 197 (4L belt) rpm. No difference with either.
The motor is 1/3hp, 1725 rpm, 6a. I have not changed the default roller setting and it works fine with a hand crank.

I start the motor and as soon as I add grain the rollers immediately bind and stop. Maybe the motor doesn’t have enough torque?? The full Malt Mill comes with a small bin that has a 3/4" x 1.5" slot in the bottom and a hand crank. Maybe I need to build a bin like the one that comes with the Malt Mill with a 3/4” x 1/5” slot at the bottom and attaching our bottle to a board on top of that, but I see lots of videos doing the way I am trying to do, so I'm not sure where to go from here.

Anyway, I would appreciate any suggestions.



Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0200-2.jpg
Views:	448
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	80503  
dmcmillen is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:13 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bensiff's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: , Washington, the state
Posts: 4,812
Liked 371 Times on 290 Posts
Likes Given: 54


What exactly is it doing? Is it binding up so that the motor is seizing or is the drive roller still turning but you have a failure to feed?

Bensiff is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:53 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
beaksnbeer's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,833
Liked 495 Times on 328 Posts
Likes Given: 67


I run a 90DC motor on mine only 120rpm but 340lb of torque never binds
Home of the 12 Tap keezer
beaksnbeer is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:42 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 118
Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts


I had a similar setup with my malt mill for several years. I had to have the motor running first and restrict hole from the hopper feeding the grain to keep things moving. I have since changed to a Harbor Freight drill with much more torque.
brewpal is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorizing my mill mavrick1903 Other 6 08-29-2012 11:54 PM
Motorizing the malt mill - old air compressor BargainFittings Other 3 03-09-2012 07:56 PM
question about motorizing my mill robumba Equipment/Sanitation 3 09-09-2011 12:59 AM
motorizing mill Csuho Other 18 05-26-2009 03:11 PM
Motorizing a Mill Reverend JC Other 16 03-25-2009 08:07 PM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads