Force Carb and Bottling - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Force Carb and Bottling

Old 10-16-2012, 04:59 PM   #1
upperNY01brewer
Recipes 

Mar 2010
Hamlin, NY
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Though I think I already know the answer to this question I will ask it anyways. Ive got the equipment for kegging other than a refridgerator to utilize it for. So right now I have a batch fermenting in a cornie, what I'd like to do is put the co2 on it and bottle from there with my bottling gun. Question is do I still prime with the priming sugar ? Im assuming not but want to make sure as it is my first time going down this road, better safe than sorry !!!!

Old 10-16-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
Soldevi
Recipes 

Dec 2011
Everett, WA
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

No need to prime the bottles if you are force carbing the keg with your CO2 canister.

Old 10-16-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
manoaction
Recipes 

Aug 2010
Fort Collins, Colorado
Liked 19 Times on 16 Posts

Have you already racked off your yeast cake? I would assume your dip tube would be hopelessly buried under sludge if you're using the same vessel for primary and carbonation.

Old 10-16-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Dec 2010
Liked 491 Times on 427 Posts

Did you primary in the corny or rack to it after fermentation was finished?

IF you don't have a yeast cake in there, you could carbonate with CO2 (use this chart to figure out the pressure at temperature) and then fill bottles with the bottling/beer gun.

I keg all my brew these days. I do bottle some of what's on tap via either a beer gun, or other fitting. Since I transfer off the yeast cake into serving kegs, this presents no issue. IF you actually fermented (fully) in the corny keg, then you'll either need to transfer to a fresh keg, or cut your dip tube down so that you don't get a bottle full of yeast/sediment/trub.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA