Friggin Server 2008 Login script aren't working! - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Friggin Server 2008 Login script aren't working!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #1
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,393
Liked 5019 Times on 3389 Posts



This should be one of the easiest things to do. I made a .bat file with NET USE commands to map a couple of drives. Placed the file in the NETLOGON folder on the DC and placed the name of the file in the user profile.

NOTHING.

I can browse right to the file and run it. Drives map. They just won't map during the startup process.

WTF?

Directories are shared. User has rights. File maps as it should.

What am I missing that is keeping this thing from mapping on start up?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:05 PM   #2
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,393
Liked 5019 Times on 3389 Posts


Nobody?

I knew there was no good reason for it not to work...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:24 PM   #3
The_Dog_42
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
The_Dog_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Austin, Tx
Posts: 574
Liked 77 Times on 59 Posts


The only thing I could think of was if the script was running before an IP is obtained. I don't have any solutions for that as it is only a SWAG and my programming experience is pretty minimal. But it was the only thought I had.

Not sure if it possible but if you put in a check to see if a network connection is established first, it would rule it out as a possibility.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TANSTAAFB
My 10 yr old chocolate lab Guinness :D thinks her name is goddammit dog or fu@%in' puppy...I think if she were registerable :drunk: her full name would Goddammit Guinness Stop It...Go Away!!! And we Love her dearly :)
My Keg-O-Vision (Kegerator) Build

My Butcherblock-esque Fermentation Chamber

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,393
Liked 5019 Times on 3389 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Dog_42 View Post
The only thing I could think of was if the script was running before an IP is obtained. I don't have any solutions for that as it is only a SWAG and my programming experience is pretty minimal. But it was the only thought I had.

Not sure if it possible but if you put in a check to see if a network connection is established first, it would rule it out as a possibility.
So I ended up just calling the consultant company to talk with their person and get it going.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:39 PM   #5
stratslinger
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stratslinger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Terryville, CT
Posts: 2,507
Liked 215 Times on 179 Posts


So, what was the answer? (Sorry, just spotting this now)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:56 PM   #6
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,393
Liked 5019 Times on 3389 Posts


I don't know. He didn't find anything "wrong" but it was still not mapping drives. I just decided to go with GPO scripts instead. It's the latest thing from what I hear. I know they work because I've already set a few up like that. The ADUC script seemed like a much simpler method, but apparently it's a less stable method and not nearly as flexible. Since almost every machine in the building is 2000 or better, the GPO scripting will work fine. For the couple of 95/98/NT machines I can do a manual map. They are the computers built into the CNC equipment and don't need a full mapping anyway.

I never had problem like this with Netware. Too bad it isn't a well supported NOS anymore.

Tomorrow I'll start setting up scripts and moving data. Now I gotta run and get my kid to dance and "maybe" have time to stop at Crankers for one of their new beers.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:04 PM   #7
The_Dog_42
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
The_Dog_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Austin, Tx
Posts: 574
Liked 77 Times on 59 Posts


Always sucks having to use the napalm and start from scratch.

(BTW hope I didn't sound too idiotic with my suggestion. I was hoping someone would jump in and say how terrible my idea was and how to really get things going, cause I was in way over my head.) <insert sheepish grin here>
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TANSTAAFB
My 10 yr old chocolate lab Guinness :D thinks her name is goddammit dog or fu@%in' puppy...I think if she were registerable :drunk: her full name would Goddammit Guinness Stop It...Go Away!!! And we Love her dearly :)
My Keg-O-Vision (Kegerator) Build

My Butcherblock-esque Fermentation Chamber

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:01 PM   #8
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,393
Liked 5019 Times on 3389 Posts


No actually the tech turned on a Premade GPO to not run the ADUC script until the network was established, so pretty much the same idea. It didn't work, so I just threw in the towel and decided to just go with GPOs and spend a little more time setting them up and saving the hassle of troubleshooting the problem with ADUC. I planned to change to GPO scripting in the future after I had a chance to really read up on it. That sht looks a bit complicated. But worth learning from what I hear.

I seem to remember a friend of mine said he was quite good at Group Policy management. I should ask him if he knows of any good books I could buy...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:55 PM   #9
Uncle Argyle
 
Uncle Argyle's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Westminster, MA.
Posts: 162
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Have you got it working?

In our environment, the login script is placed in the following directory on our Domain Controller

C:\Windows\SYSVOL\sysvol\"your domain"\scripts\logon.bat

and then the script name is placed in the user's account properties, under the profiles tab. Just the script name...no path or UNC.

Mike
__________________
Old Iron Beerworks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:58 PM   #10
bayoujeeper
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Prairieville, Louisiana
Posts: 110
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle argyle View Post
have you got it working?

In our environment, the login script is placed in the following directory on our domain controller

c:\windows\sysvol\sysvol\"your domain"\scripts\logon.bat

and then the script name is placed in the user's account properties, under the profiles tab. Just the script name...no path or unc.

Mike
+1

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Script to calculate water salt additions doobliebop Brewing Software 4 09-19-2012 09:33 PM
Visual Basic Script problem. Homercidal General Chit Chat 2 10-03-2011 12:45 PM
Windows Server 2008 UI SavageSteve General Chit Chat 10 09-09-2009 12:16 PM
I smell a movie script....this is great! Dude General Chit Chat 3 04-17-2007 02:53 AM
This has movie script written all over it Dude General Chit Chat 16 01-24-2007 06:17 AM


Forum Jump