Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Temperature Controllers
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2012, 04:11 AM   #1
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default Temperature Controllers

I am still not completely clear what a PID is, and am wondering if these Chinese temperature controllers are essentially PIDs?

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/110V-10A-Mini...#ht_1110wt_956

If this is not a PID, does this essentially do the same thing as a PID?

I currently use these controllers to lager in freezers. If I were to attach a 1/4" threaded probe, could I incorporate this into my control panel?

Thanks.


Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:26 AM   #2
helibrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
helibrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 3,680
Liked 291 Times on 248 Posts
Likes Given: 77

Default

I use STC-1000's also. They are not PID's since there is no logic to make adjustments based on undershoots and overshoots, they just turn on or turn off at their set point. I use mine to control my RIMs element by attaching the probe directly to my RIMs return line in the MLT. It's water proof so I don't use a thermowell. The probe end is a little too big for a 1/4" well.


__________________
Something is always fermenting....
"It's Bahl Hornin'"

Primary:
Brite Tank/Lagering:
Kegged: Sour Saison, Pale Ale, Aggie Ale, Firestone DBA, De Koninck Blonde
Bottled: Belgian Quad (Grand Reserve), Derangement (Belgian Dark Strong)
On Deck: Pliny the Younger
helibrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:37 AM   #3
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default

How do you get the probe into your return line in the MLT without it being threaded?
Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:05 PM   #4
tator2k
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 96
Likes Given: 4

Default

These are the same devices everyone uses for their 2 stage ferm chambers.
tator2k is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:34 PM   #5
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default

Can someone explain how they're getting the probes inside either the chambers or brew system lines? Can you do it with the default probe somehow?
Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:02 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 495

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chugmaster View Post
Can someone explain how they're getting the probes inside either the chambers or brew system lines? Can you do it with the default probe somehow?
Please explain what you are trying to accomplish.

If you are trying to provide control over a brew process, this matters a lot up front.

The controller you chose and the temperature probe matters a huge amount in risk of your results.

(Just my very humble opinion)

P-J

Edit: Oh well.. I spouted off & am done - So sorry...
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:53 AM   #7
helibrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
helibrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 3,680
Liked 291 Times on 248 Posts
Likes Given: 77

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chugmaster View Post
Can someone explain how they're getting the probes inside either the chambers or brew system lines? Can you do it with the default probe somehow?
Mine is very low tech. I have a silicone line that attaches to an elbow that goes through the lid of my MLT (Cooler). Inside the MLT I use LokLine. I just put the STC probe in the end of the Lokline nozzle and hold it there with a paperclip
__________________
Something is always fermenting....
"It's Bahl Hornin'"

Primary:
Brite Tank/Lagering:
Kegged: Sour Saison, Pale Ale, Aggie Ale, Firestone DBA, De Koninck Blonde
Bottled: Belgian Quad (Grand Reserve), Derangement (Belgian Dark Strong)
On Deck: Pliny the Younger
helibrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:44 PM   #8
Chugmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Please explain what you are trying to accomplish.

If you are trying to provide control over a brew process, this matters a lot up front.

The controller you chose and the temperature probe matters a huge amount in risk of your results.

(Just my very humble opinion)

P-J

Edit: Oh well.. I spouted off & am done - So sorry...
Well right now I am simply taping these probes to the sides of carboys to control the temperature inside of a chest freezer in order to lager.

What I'd like to do is use these controllers for:

1. Use in a HERMS system in order to start the pump to recirculate and maintain temp in my mash tun.
2. Use in my electric HLT tank to maintain temperature
3. Use in a plastic conical in order to activate a pump to circulate coolant through an immersion chiller.


Chugmaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature controllers. KarlHungus76 Equipment/Sanitation 11 07-29-2012 12:39 AM
Temperature Controllers ruskii Electric Brewing 2 02-13-2012 08:26 PM
Temperature Controllers jakehale Fermenters 19 05-27-2011 05:19 AM
Temperature controllers BugAC Kegerators and Keezers 4 05-12-2011 09:58 PM
Temperature controllers cridden General Beer Discussion 0 03-15-2011 09:01 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS