Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Sanitize the thermostat probe?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2012, 05:46 AM   #1
JDFlow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 435
Liked 27 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default Sanitize the thermostat probe?

Anyone ever sanitize their thermostat probe and put it right in the fermenter? I'm sure an airlock bung would seal in around it.


JDFlow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:11 AM   #2
Pappers_
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Pappers_'s Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12,846
Liked 1270 Times on 872 Posts
Likes Given: 2461

Default

I would not assume that the probe is good in liquid.

You can buy something called a thermowell that will do what you are describing. FWIW, I have my carboy in a nylon strap hauler inside the chamber, and slip the probe under the strap so it is held against the carboy.
Pappers_ is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:12 AM   #3
JDFlow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 435
Liked 27 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

I'm doing something similar now. My probe is solid copper with a copper line. I don't think it'd have any problems being submerged.
JDFlow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator thermostat controller grssmnperez Fermentation & Yeast 8 06-04-2012 02:51 PM
Is it possible to Over SANITIZE year2beer Fermentation & Yeast 6 04-17-2012 11:25 PM
I Need a Thermostat yellowthunda Fermentation & Yeast 1 04-14-2011 10:39 AM
Southern Brewer Considering A Refrigerator Thermostat Probe Rig edgeofblade Fermentation & Yeast 6 01-30-2011 09:54 PM
thermostat question chippy_23 Fermentation & Yeast 2 10-07-2009 02:57 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS