Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > So how screwed am I?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 12:57 AM   #1
TromboneGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 278
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default So how screwed am I?

Ok, so for the next two weeks I'm in a tiny place since my wife is doing some post-grad work in Chicago. Which means I'm migrating my brewing activity over to my parents' house, where there's loads of space.

Here's the problem: their new place has a water softener system on the whole house. Even the garden hose spigots outside the house. I'm about to send a sample off to Ward Labs, but am I likely looking at purchasing RO water for everything for the next couple of years?


TromboneGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:03 AM   #2
bottlebomber
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ukiah, CA
Posts: 14,326
Liked 2716 Times on 2101 Posts
Likes Given: 372

Default

There's got to be a valve before the softener. Or you could truck a couple buckets of water over.


bottlebomber is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:05 AM   #3
afr0byte
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,438
Liked 74 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Yes, you'll want any RO system unless the softener its self has some kind of bypass valve you can use to grab unsoftened water--though you probably would have to dilute with RO anyways, since the water needed a softener. An RO system big enough for brewing isn't very expensive, though.
afr0byte is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:33 AM   #4
TromboneGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 278
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Sorry, I meant two years, not weeks.


And I checked, there's no cutoff valve before the softener. I guess my dad figured he wanted soft water to wash his cars. The funny part is the city water isn't bad - I used to use it at my old place.
TromboneGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:41 AM   #5
bottlebomber
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ukiah, CA
Posts: 14,326
Liked 2716 Times on 2101 Posts
Likes Given: 372

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneGuy
Sorry, I meant two years, not weeks.

And I checked, there's no cutoff valve before the softener. I guess my dad figured he wanted soft water to wash his cars. The funny part is the city water isn't bad - I used to use it at my old place.
What would be stopping you from dropping in a valve?
bottlebomber is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:45 AM   #6
TromboneGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 278
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Heh. Nothing, I suppose. Honestly though, I'll wait to see the analysis. They've apparently got a really new softener that's supposed to be very salt-efficient. If the result is too sodium-rich I'll just figure out a good dilution ratio. I'm just complaining about how my dad had his new house plumbed.
TromboneGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:47 AM   #7
afr0byte
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,438
Liked 74 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Even if it's salt-efficient, one would think it'd still replace all of the calcium and magnesium with sodium (it'd just do that efficiently).
afr0byte is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:58 PM   #8
BigBlueDog
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BigBlueDog's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 146
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

This is one of those thread titles where you're not quite sure what that topic will actually be...

It sounds like you're thinking about your options if the water report isn't to your liking. If the city water is acceptable, why not get a couple of 5 gallon water cube containers and haul some water with you when go to your parents' house to brew? "BYOW." A bit of a hassle, but maybe less so than having to buy RO.
BigBlueDog is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:49 PM   #9
Wisluggo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 52
Default

I brew at home, and I used soft water and I have had not issues with flavor profiles. Maybe I am just lucky.
Wisluggo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:59 AM   #10
dannedry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 169
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisluggo View Post
I brew at home, and I used soft water and I have had not issues with flavor profiles. Maybe I am just lucky.
Me too... only had 1 bad batch, and many GREAT ones! And believe me, the 1 bad batch had NOTHING to do with soft water. Haha, unless a bunch of cats pissed in the water softener... Hahaha. Just my $0.02



dannedry is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS