breaker bracket from sub panel - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > breaker bracket from sub panel

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2012, 04:55 PM   #1
Robhansen
Hoghead Brewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Monroe City, IN
Posts: 33


I've searched for this, I hope it hasn't been covered before! What would be wrong with using the breaker bracket/busbar assembly from a 125a sub panel inside my control box? I think it would make it very simple. Just feed the box with either a 50 or 60 amp cord to the busbar and use a 2 pole breaker for each 5500 watt element. Add a 15a breaker for the pump(s) and a fuse for the PID/SSR. It should be safe, and allow for future changes in design. I'll use a GFCI at the main panel.
Click image for larger version

Name:	1-IMAG0522.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	77982  

Reason: incomplete

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:23 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


I would not do that. This would allow raw power to be exposed within your control panel. I suggest that you use DIN rail mounted breakers within your controller. Take a look at these products:

Circuit Breaker-240V-Double Pole 25A
Circuit Breaker-240V-Double Pole 15A
Circuit Breaker-120V-Single Pole
DIN-Rail Component-Circuit-Breaker-Rails

I firmly believe this would be a much safer plan for you to follow.

P-J

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:03 AM   #3
Robhansen
Hoghead Brewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Monroe City, IN
Posts: 33

It shouldn't be any more dangerous than your breaker box at home. Just kill the power before you go in. Once built, I won't be in there messing around.
I agree, your way is safer, but it's easy enough to pull the plug.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:18 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


You are set on it so why ask the question?

Do it your way, don't ask and just be done with it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:27 AM   #5
Robhansen
Hoghead Brewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Monroe City, IN
Posts: 33

Sorry

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:25 AM   #6
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


I agree din rail is the most ideal, but using common parts isn't bad either. you're going to have 'live' parts inside your control box no matter how you configure it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
Robhansen
Hoghead Brewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Monroe City, IN
Posts: 33

Yes, I'm sure that the DIN rail is better, nicer and maybe more cool. But I can't pick that stuff up at Lowe's. I thought the busbar arrangement of the breaker bracket would simplify things since I have no experience with DIN components. I was pretty sure that the terminal strips in the nice setups were exposed with raw power also.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
Add 120v breaker to a spa panel? HearthstoneBrewery Electric Brewing 6 04-11-2012 08:52 PM
GE Spa Panel Breaker sdugre Electric Brewing 9 07-18-2011 07:22 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM


Forum Jump