30 AMP GFI Breaker - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 30 AMP GFI Breaker
Cool Brewing Corny 5G & Mini Giveaway

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2012, 01:21 AM   #1
louie0202
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Illinois
Posts: 277
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 64


Is it common for a 30amp dual pole GFI breaker to be closer to $100

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...atalogId=10053

This is what I need to finish my Kal Clone setup.


__________________
On Tap: American Cream Ale (AG), Random Beer (AG)
Primary #1: French Saison (AG), Orval Clone (AG), The Number Eight (AG), Argentine Malbec, Belgian Blonde (AG)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:34 AM   #2
Beerzrus
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Beerzrus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 87
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9


Yes, most people tie into an existing non-GFCI circuit and use a spa panel disconnect for about $60.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:35 AM   #3
grandequeso
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7


At retail pricing, yes. That sounds about right. I've paid around $59-70 when purchasing them wholesale.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:45 AM   #4
louie0202
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Illinois
Posts: 277
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 64


Here is the deal, I am going to run my dryer off of it sometimes and my panel sometimes, so I assume its better just to run a new breaker vs the spa panel.
__________________
On Tap: American Cream Ale (AG), Random Beer (AG)
Primary #1: French Saison (AG), Orval Clone (AG), The Number Eight (AG), Argentine Malbec, Belgian Blonde (AG)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:06 AM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 300 Times on 235 Posts
Likes Given: 496


Quote:
Originally Posted by louie0202 View Post
Here is the deal, I am going to run my dryer off of it sometimes and my panel sometimes, so I assume its better just to run a new breaker vs the spa panel.
IF it is a 4 wire system, your dryer is set up to be plugged into a 4 wire outlet and the dryer is properly set up.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:29 PM   #6
DustBow
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 590
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3


check out this thread
Best of all worlds
__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."

louie0202 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:54 PM   #7
louie0202
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Illinois
Posts: 277
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 64


Thanks Dustbow, I was looking for one. I actually have a non-gfi cord I bought off of Kal's website that I will probably resell and just use this. Now I just have to run a new line to my dryer and install the new cord on my dryer. When I bought my dryer it could be wired for 3 or 4 pin


__________________
On Tap: American Cream Ale (AG), Random Beer (AG)
Primary #1: French Saison (AG), Orval Clone (AG), The Number Eight (AG), Argentine Malbec, Belgian Blonde (AG)

 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI breaker pricing... this can't be right flanneltrees804 Electric Brewing 50 03-24-2012 03:06 AM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
Did I Blow My Breaker? Maltose Electric Brewing 5 12-12-2010 04:58 AM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 08:20 PM


Forum Jump