Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > power supply cord for e-brew
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2012, 05:34 PM   #1
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default power supply cord for e-brew

Currently in the final stages of a Kal clone and wondering about the main power cord. The breaker box is the house and the brew rig is 45' away in a detached garage. What I want to do is hook the spa panel up inside the house with a dryer plug built in and build a 55' power cord with the dryer plug on one end and the nema on the other. Is this going to be too much resistance? Am I going to have big power loss over the 55'?


flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You're plenty fine. vd at 55' and 25 amps on #10awg is 3.4volts or 1.4%. (3% is max vd)


grandequeso is offline
stlbeer Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Francus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Francus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 106
Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

4 wire power cords are expensive over 10' in length everywhere I looked. I needed 20' and my solution was to buy 25' of 10awg wire, put the plug Kal recommends on on end and I got a 4 prong plug from eBay for the other. Even though the 4 prong was pricey, by the time you add the wire, prong, and Kal's plug it was still cheaper than getting a custom cord made. And so far it has worked fine. It's a bit stiff, though, as you might imagine, but no biggie. It works.
Francus is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:18 PM   #4
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I have a hookup at mcmaster and get the cable for less than $2 foot which is still pricey when u need 60' but it's a lot better than most places.
__________________
littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:25 PM   #5
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

be sure to check ebay, I just bought 50' 10-awg for about $55 shipped
__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:09 PM   #6
rack04
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 479
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I think 10/4 sjoow power cable is only rated at 25 amps. You should really be looking at 8/4 soow power cable.
rack04 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:27 PM   #7
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I've seen 14/4 rated at 300v and 30amp per lead...
__________________
littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:13 PM   #8
Ravenshead
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ravenshead's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: League City, Tx
Posts: 1,247
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I'm using 50' of 10 gage in a similar situation. Works great for one heating element at a time. I suspect it will work fine for two but haven't tried it yet.
__________________
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polorl69 View Post
I had no problems whatsoever getting my pee to ferment.
Ravenshead is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:35 PM   #9
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I'm only running one element at a time and I think it was 12/4, not 14/4 that I was thinking of.
__________________
littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:52 PM   #10
Francus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Francus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 106
Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I'm just running one element and 2 pumps max at a time. So far it's worked for me. I have a BCS and it is set up to kill the other element before starting a new element just to be on the safe side.


Francus is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30A GFCI power cord squidtpd Electric Brewing 85 06-22-2013 05:19 AM
Quick Power Cord Question Thundercougarfalconbird Electric Brewing 14 02-08-2012 07:42 PM
Heatstick power cord tarponteaser Electric Brewing 4 08-26-2011 02:24 PM
Power Cord Question McCuckerson Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 09:54 PM
Power cord help MX1 Electric Brewing 5 02-27-2011 09:58 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS