Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Chillers and Stir Plates > Aquarium Chiller
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
fpweeks
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
fpweeks's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: shohola, pa
Posts: 717
Liked 31 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Aquarium Chiller

Anybody use one of these for temp control on their conical? I'm thinking of adding a stainless coil and I like the self contained idea of one of these chillers. ( I hate the idea of buying a third chest freezer!). Mind you, the two I own aren't used as freezers....


__________________
One way or another, this week will end with a homebrew.......

https://www.facebook.com/pourhousebrews
fpweeks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:42 AM   #2
fpweeks
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
fpweeks's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: shohola, pa
Posts: 717
Liked 31 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

http://www.marinedepot.com/AquaEuroU...INQCBC-vi.html

Here's a link to one....but I would be looking for one on CL or eBay.


__________________
One way or another, this week will end with a homebrew.......

https://www.facebook.com/pourhousebrews
fpweeks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:11 PM   #3
Junkster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Central, Ohio
Posts: 509
Liked 31 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Check this out..... http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/diy-...nters-348320/?
Junkster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 04:30 PM   #4
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I just scored one of those too. This one
I traded 2 corny's for it

Basically what I'm planning is a cooler or Sanke for a reservoir with a submersible pump to move glycol through the chiller. Then a second pump to move the glycol through a closed loop past the fermenters, and through my tap tower. (My DIY chiller thread and tower build are here)

Same idea about a stainless coil "IC" in the fermenter, but with some sort of quick disconnect so I can take it all upstairs to clean it.

I'm also eyeballing the "FremTroller" project. Ultimately, I want to have 2 fermenters and my tap tower on the system, completely automated.

Subscribed - I'm anxious to see what you come up with
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chiller Control.jpg
Views:	501
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	75450  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:38 PM   #5
fpweeks
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
fpweeks's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: shohola, pa
Posts: 717
Liked 31 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

thats exactly what im thinking but just with the two fermentors......in the winter my reservoir would have to be heated......basement is too cold.....

you should use a BCS to control the system.....then you can sit at your pc and check out the temps....

now i just need to find the deal you did on the chiller.
fpweeks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:18 PM   #6
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I've got a BCS-460. I'm really leaning toward the BrewTroller now, though. Or more specifically, the FermTroller because I have a kegerator and 2 keezers that aren't on that diagram and that's too much for the BCS.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS