Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Why Not? (a hydrometer question)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2012, 10:17 PM   #1
rawkstar320
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default Why Not? (a hydrometer question)

I brew small one gallon and recently started using a refractometer. I just had a random thought: Why not just have a few extra hydrometers and leave them in the carboy? This scheme would probably be better suited for the secondary, but you wouldn't have to keep opening up you r carboy to take samples.

Thoughts? Hydrometers aren't that expensive....


__________________
Check out my small batch brewing blog:
jakesbeerlog.WordPress.com
rawkstar320 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
inhousebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: minneapolis, minnesota
Posts: 1,454
Liked 126 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

You wouldn't be able to read them with the krausen coating them. I thought of this before coming to that conclusion.


__________________
I hate Walder Frey...
inhousebrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:02 PM   #3
jhall4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pleasanton, California
Posts: 151
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

In addition to the krausen obstructing your view, I wouldn't trust the reading unless I could make sure there were no bubbles formed on it pushing it up or other debris attached pulling it down.
jhall4 is offline
passedpawn Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:21 PM   #4
rawkstar320
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

That's why I was thinking it would be better to drop it in after the transfer.

The bubble point id a good one. Thanks for the points, not something I'll do...but just thought if get some input
__________________
Check out my small batch brewing blog:
jakesbeerlog.WordPress.com
rawkstar320 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:27 PM   #5
deadscott
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 37
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

If it is glass hydrometer I would be afraid of breaking it when I tried to get it out. They can be pretty fragile.
deadscott is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:31 PM   #6
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,673
Liked 141 Times on 134 Posts

Default

All you have to do is draw your OG sample after adding the yeast and set it next to the carboy with the hydrometer in it. If the hydrometer gets covered with krausen, just pull it out and clean it. Yes, the sample might go weird on you, but it does make it easy to monitor the fermentation. Once the sample reaches the FG, clean everything and draw a new sample.

I've noticed that the sample tube tends to ferment a bit faster than the main carboy, but the FG will be the same.


__________________
Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk
david_42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS