Control Panel wiring help. - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Control Panel wiring help.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
Tyrant
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 29


This is my first real post on the forums, but have gather a ton of brewing knowledge from here. So first off, thank you everyone, HBT and PJ for the wiring diagrams.

I have already purchased and put together all my parts for an my ebrew system.

1 pot, maybe 2 eventually to get boil and mash
1 PID, 1 SSR, 1 contactor, 1 estop

I have everything wired up already, with a main switch for the PID, selector switch for the element (eventually going to go with 2 PIDs so I bought for expansion in the future) and a LED indicator light for the element being on.

I have read a bunch on here and know a bit about electrical circuits (not an expert mind you) and would like someone to take a look at my wiring.

I have a neutral going into the left side of the contactor that's T-off into the indicator light. Is this OK practice to T off, or run a separate line from the power block?

For line 1 into the PID power switch, and element switch, I used a line from the power block, to a fuse, then split out to each switch.

For the main lines, power block to SSR, contactor, element and such I used stranded AWG 10 THHN. For the PID power, LED contactor coil I ripped apart a 120v power strip and used those wires. So for anything providing power to the element I used 10 THHN, everything else I used the power strip wire. Will this be OK since I'm not running much into there? I also used this wire for the neutral. Ground is AWG 10 as well.

As of right now, nothing is soldered. Just using tape to keep things together until I confirm the wiring is complete.

I am using the auberins PID box. It has enough room for 1 element, but doesn't seem Ok for 2. Again, just using this for now until I move up to a more permanent solution.

I do have GFCI on this as well. I'm not stupid...


Click image for larger version

Name:	Wiring.jpg
Views:	620
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	75135  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:29 AM   #2
Tyrant
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 29

Does anyone have any insight on this?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
TrainSafe
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Appleton, WI
Posts: 812
Liked 68 Times on 46 Posts


Does the power strip wire have a gauge marked on it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:33 AM   #4
TrainSafe
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Appleton, WI
Posts: 812
Liked 68 Times on 46 Posts


Your diagram looks good. That should accomplish exactly what you are hoping.

My only recommendation would be to add fuses to protect the power strip wire. The size of the fuses would be based on the size of the wire.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
fbold1
Brew Nut
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
fbold1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
North Coast, Ohio
Posts: 259
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


What's the deal on the E-stop?
__________________
"Whoever makes a poor beer is transferred to the dung-hill." Edict in the City of Danzig, 11th Century.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:12 PM   #6
TrainSafe
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Appleton, WI
Posts: 812
Liked 68 Times on 46 Posts


It is a current limited circuit designed to trip the GFCI on his breaker.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:20 PM   #7
fbold1
Brew Nut
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
fbold1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
North Coast, Ohio
Posts: 259
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by TrainSafe View Post
It is a current limited circuit designed to trip the GFCI on his breaker.
Sounds good, a round about way of getting there.
__________________
"Whoever makes a poor beer is transferred to the dung-hill." Edict in the City of Danzig, 11th Century.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:30 PM   #8
Tyrant
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 29

I have fuses between the power block and the PID / switches. Should there be more? I have a 5 fuse strip with 3 available so I can add where needed. What do you recommend?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:56 AM   #9
fbold1
Brew Nut
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
fbold1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
North Coast, Ohio
Posts: 259
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrant
I have fuses between the power block and the PID / switches. Should there be more? I have a 5 fuse strip with 3 available so I can add where needed. What do you recommend?
That looks fine, happy brewing!
__________________
"Whoever makes a poor beer is transferred to the dung-hill." Edict in the City of Danzig, 11th Century.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:40 PM   #10
Tyrant
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 29

Thanks. I don't have a 240 line in my house yet so I have to hold off until thats complete. Want to get a pumpkin ale going.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel Wiring Question lafolielapper Electric Brewing 15 04-28-2012 01:44 PM
Wiring guys please help with first control panel!?! Option Electric Brewing 8 03-19-2012 02:24 AM
control panel - how's my wiring? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 8 12-23-2011 10:55 PM
Control panel wiring questions jbug440 Electric Brewing 2 04-15-2011 11:45 AM
Simple control panel wiring help HossTheGreat Electric Brewing 27 01-15-2011 05:31 PM


Forum Jump