Building an electric brewery using 120V - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Building an electric brewery using 120V

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2012, 02:38 PM   #1
CCS813
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Orlando, FL
Posts: 4


So I have been homebrewing for just over a year now. I have been doing AG on my turkey fryer but now want to transition to electric. Right now I rent so I can not install any new fixtures so I was thinking about going the 120V route.

My questions are 1.)can I use 2, 2000W elements in the same BK to get the boil needed, 2.) can those elements run off the same plug plugged into the same circuit, 3.) can they be controlled by the PID, & 4.) can that PID & the elements be plugged in together?

I know I have a lot of questions and I appreciate all the help I can get.

-Chris

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 9,688
Liked 1456 Times on 1107 Posts


1. yes
2. No! you will need 2 separate 120v 20 amp circuits
3. Since separate circuits, control would be separate. Or you could run one element controlled, and one at 100% to provide variable power 2000-4000w.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
jammin
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
jammin's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Meridian, ID
Posts: 2,135
Liked 409 Times on 305 Posts


^correct.

110v limits your batch size for sure.

Here is a cool build thread for a 2.5/3 gallon 110v kit controlled by PID -

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/110...atches-341219/

I just built one myself and am very happy with it's performance. I can use it indoors and watch football while I'm brew'n

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:14 PM   #4
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 9,688
Liked 1456 Times on 1107 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jammin View Post
110v limits your batch size for sure.
I guess it does, but FWIW I have recently have done several 15 gal batches, around 19 gal. preboil w/ 2, 2000w elements using 120v.

Just need more circuits if using lower voltage IME.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
jammin
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
jammin's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Meridian, ID
Posts: 2,135
Liked 409 Times on 305 Posts


^dang! I stand corrected. 15 gallons on 110 - sweet!
__________________
I know Bill Brasky

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:09 AM   #6
CCS813
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Orlando, FL
Posts: 4

Thanks, Jammin for that thread. That's pretty much what I am looking to build. I'm thinking I'll use the 2 element drawing to get a rolling boil quicker then turn one element off & maintain it. I'm also thinking about adding a second PID with it's own element & switch for the HLT. This whole set up will be plugged into 3 outlets.

Those drawings were really detailed. I got a little confused with the first one regarding the contactor & resistor. Do I need both of them if I use the second drawing?

Thanks again for the help.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:52 PM   #7
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,315
Liked 56 Times on 53 Posts


1. Yes, you can even use 2x 1500W elements and leave them on full blast for the boil if you're only doing 5-6 gallon batches. I did this for quite a while.
2. As stated above, no. You will need 2 separate 15 or 20A GFCI protected circuits.
3. Yes.
4. Yes, there should be enough wiggle room for that, you should also be able to run a pump if needed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:07 PM   #8
thargrav
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


The best 120V solution is to combine your stove top with a 120V brew controller. Your stove top will not bring 7 gallons to a boil but the combination of your stove top + a 1650 watt brew controller will boil 7 gallons & will provide the control you need to manage foam.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CCS813 View Post
So I have been homebrewing for just over a year now. I have been doing AG on my turkey fryer but now want to transition to electric. Right now I rent so I can not install any new fixtures so I was thinking about going the 120V route.

My questions are 1.)can I use 2, 2000W elements in the same BK to get the boil needed, 2.) can those elements run off the same plug plugged into the same circuit, 3.) can they be controlled by the PID, & 4.) can that PID & the elements be plugged in together?

I know I have a lot of questions and I appreciate all the help I can get.

-Chris

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building new stand, changing plan from propane to electric and need help vaheel Electric Brewing 22 02-12-2012 01:50 AM
120v Hybrid Electric Brewery CoalCracker Electric Brewing 4 12-13-2011 02:14 PM
Dual 120V Electric BIAB schmoe Electric Brewing 7 10-26-2011 03:01 PM
My Super Mini Single Element 120V ULC (ultra low cost) Electric Setup ryclo Electric Brewing 28 07-20-2011 01:36 AM
120v Electric 5 gal Brewery wh4tig0t Electric Brewing 13 04-08-2011 03:41 PM


Forum Jump