Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Chillers and Stir Plates > Stirrer Box for Starter
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 04:06 PM   #1
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 139
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Stirrer Box for Starter

I constructed a stirrer box and I have some problems.

Here are the parts

-Project Box
-Car switch
-25 amps rheostat
-12V, .012 amps computer fan
-3 nuts + bolts
-One 1-inch stirrer rod (flat)
-12V PSU
-Two earth magnets

I wired all the parts together, and the RPMs of the fan were too high even in the zero position. The stirring rod was not spinning, just trembling all over the place.

I made some calculations and found that, for a 12V PSU, 12V/0.12 amps fan, I need a 140 ohms rheostat.

I found another 5V PSU and the rheostat resistance requirement turned out to be zero.

I re-wired the stirrer with the new PSU and still and I have the same problem even though the RPMs were decreased significantly.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks, Nil


Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
gromitdj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 187
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

There are a few possible solutions, however my first inclinations are:

1. Check that you have the opposite poles of the magnets facing up. Since you are using two magnets I am assuming that they are the disc type that are polarized along their length.

2. Make sure that the magnets are as close to the bottom of the flask as possible. Depending on what magnets you used, they might not be strong enough to work through the enclosure.


__________________
Donnie
gromitdj is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:38 PM   #3
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,995
Liked 438 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

Does the fan draw .12 amps, or .012 amps?
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 139
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

0.12 amps
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:26 AM   #5
Brewshock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 21
Likes Given: 1

Default

You just have to play with it. I started with a 12v psu and dropped to a 9v with no success. Yet when I installed a second rheostat, left one down all the way and fined tuned the second one. I was finally able to see some results. Don't give up. You'll get it.
Brewshock is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:47 PM   #6
krazydave
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Clarita, California
Posts: 880
Liked 25 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I threw a couple resistors on mine to drop the voltage. Worked a charm.
Then I got this brilliant idea to use a on-off-on switch I had lying around to put different resistance on each side. I now have high and low speeds as well.
krazydave is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #7
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 139
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks, Folks. I found that I got ceramic magnets and it seems not appropriate. I will dig some old hard drive to get the magnets out. I will also try to use some resistors as well as a second rheostat.

The stirring rod also seems wired. It is totally flat and square, as opposed to others that are round. I don't know. You may advise.

Thanks!, Nil
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:53 PM   #8
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 139
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Well folks, I got it thanks to your advice.

I purchased an internal 10K rheostat and new magnets (I don't have any old hard drive). The magnets are bigger, meaning a higher surface area for the magnetic field.

I placed the new rheostat is series with the external rheostat, and tuned the current using a small nut. Just perfect.

Thanks a lot, Folks! Nil


Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diy stirrer mummasan Chillers and Stir Plates 5 05-07-2012 01:39 AM
Motor for HLT Stirrer sdugre Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 13 10-13-2011 01:02 AM
How many RPM's is too much for HLT Stirrer Mr. Mojo Rising Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 16 01-07-2010 07:14 PM
stirrer fro electric HLT planenut Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 26 02-16-2009 03:56 PM
Motor for HLT stirrer. TommyBoy Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 7 01-02-2009 11:15 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS