lactose question - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > lactose question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2012, 08:12 PM   #1
hophead44
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 38


I have a vanilla cream ale in the primary right now. I didn't add the lactose in the boil. The guy at my lhbs said it can be added at bottling time, i just needed to boil it like priming sugar. Im going to add the vanilla and rack it to secondary on Monday. I should be able to add the lactose then too shouldn't i?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Erroneous
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 605
Liked 31 Times on 26 Posts


Yep. Might be best too so you can be sure it gets mixed by racking twice. Once for secondary and again for bottle/keg

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:27 PM   #3
hophead44
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 38

Sweet thanks! the recipe calls for 4oz. Is that about normal? I've never used it before.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:27 PM   #4
hophead44
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 38

5gallon batch, sorry.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:28 PM   #5
Erroneous
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 605
Liked 31 Times on 26 Posts


I'll let someone else answer that since I never have used lactose. If it were me I'd add a couple grams to a cup and do it to taste then scale up.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:47 PM   #6
duboman
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Glenview, IL
Posts: 6,368
Liked 508 Times on 470 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by hophead44
Sweet thanks! the recipe calls for 4oz. Is that about normal? I've never used it before.
Yup!
__________________
Nothing Left to do but smile and drink beer.....

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump